The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 10:04pm
Coach Paul
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 49
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.
__________________
Coach Paul
www.cmbua.org
Board Certified Umpire /
Baseball Instructor / Coach
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 11:04pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.

Coach Paul:

Correct if I am wrong but doesn't H.S. baseball in Massachusetts use OBR instead of NFHS?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Fri Apr 22, 2016 at 11:22am. Reason: Corrected spelling.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.
Because he can't hinder the runner if he doesn't have the ball (FED and LL). NCAA says F3 can't block the base.

Where is F3 positioned that he is able to block the base by dropping a knee.

In higher level ball the second time he tries it the runner may come back feet first.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2016, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
In higher level ball the second time he tries it the runner may come back feet first.
RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2016, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benchcoach View Post


RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.
I've never seen that (at least not intentionally). All who have tried this use the lower leg.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2016, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Bob:
Poor typing, I meant lower leg. Typed thigh because that what was most visible.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2016, 11:24am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benchcoach View Post


RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.

Nowhere in the NFHS Baseball Rules will you find a rule that defines when and when not a Runner can slide feet first into a Base.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2016, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
True about rule but I am certain FU saw it as a safety issue. Wanting to teach a kid a lesson would not justify harming him. It would have been real easy to break F3's ankle. It would also be morally repugnant and unethical.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2016, 04:38pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benchcoach View Post
True about rule but I am certain FU saw it as a safety issue. Wanting to teach a kid a lesson would not justify harming him. It would have been real easy to break F3's ankle. It would also be morally repugnant and unethical.

Coach:

Your bucket of reasons for penalizing R1 is leaking worse than the Titantic. If R1 effects a legal slide and during such a legal slide makes contact with F3, there is no infraction of the rules, even if F3 is injured. Stop trying to enforce a rule that does not exist.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 23, 2016, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
the slide has to be legal.

That means butt cheek and one leg on the ground. I cant envision a case where the slide is legal but still rises in my judgment to malicious contact. I guess there could be a case when you judge intent to harm even when the slide is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2016, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.
Case play 8.3.2K (any typos are mine): F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in an attempt to retire B1 at first. The ball is thrown wide. As F3 lunges toward the ball, F3 collides with B1, knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a) while B1 is short of first base. Ruling: (a) Obstruction.

Sure -- the case play is a grounder, and this thread is dealing with a pickoff. But, the concept is the same -- the fielder (in FED) does not have the "right to go for the (thrown) ball."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2016, 09:52am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Or, to put it another way:

The defense screwed up by making a bad throw. An attempt to catch that bad throw doesn't give a fielder the "right" to obstruct a runner.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2016, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.
As others have confirmed, I am serious.

F3 has every right to move to make a play on an errant throw, he just can't obstruct the runner when doing so. As CT1 said, the defense screwed up and made a bad throw. You can't penalize the runner for for a defensive error.

And, you may not believe this either, he is awarded 2nd base on the obstruction!

Yes, even if he was going back to 1st.

Nothing NEW!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction or not? Illini_Ref Baseball 12 Sun Jun 17, 2012 07:04pm
Obstruction jmkupka Softball 19 Thu Sep 22, 2011 03:47pm
FED Obstruction johnnyg08 Baseball 7 Mon May 03, 2010 01:07pm
Obstruction or not? dddunn3d Baseball 4 Sun Jul 18, 2004 09:09pm
ASA new obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 14 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1