The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 42
Obstruction

Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benchcoach View Post
Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?
It's OBS *IF* it (a) happens before F3 catches the ball (and to be clear, it's the OBS that must happen, not just the dropping the knee), AND (b) F3 denies complete access to the base.

If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal.

If F3 blocks part of the base but leaves part for the runner, probably legal (and "part" means "part of the side facing second base").
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2016, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 280
Talking

Obstruction

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's OBS *IF* it (a) happens before F3 catches the ball (and to be clear, it's the OBS that must happen, not just the dropping the knee), AND (b) F3 denies complete access to the base.

If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal.

If F3 blocks part of the base but leaves part for the runner, probably legal (and "part" means "part of the side facing second base").
Would it be the same if it was a small F3
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 08:20am
Coach Paul
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
...If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal...
I'd say that would be obstruction and therefore ILLEGAL.
__________________
Coach Paul
www.cmbua.org
Board Certified Umpire /
Baseball Instructor / Coach
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
I'd say that would be obstruction and therefore ILLEGAL.
Why? the runner wasn't "hindered" until F3 already had the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2016, 11:31pm
Coach Paul
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why? the runner wasn't "hindered" until F3 already had the ball.
He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.
__________________
Coach Paul
www.cmbua.org
Board Certified Umpire /
Baseball Instructor / Coach
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2016, 11:46pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.

A fielder can be in front of a bag without the ball. What he can't do is hinder the runner when he doesn't have the ball. There is a difference.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPaul View Post
He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.
And on a pick-off, the runner isn't likely to be hindered until the actual moment of contact -- so if the fielder has the ball when the contact occurs, no OBS. (yes, there are some exceptions; and NCAA makes this move OBS even if the fielder has the ball when the contact occurs)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2016, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southeastern Illinois
Posts: 56
2.22.1 SITUATION B: B1 hits the ball into the gap. He rounds first and heads to second base. F6 blocks the base (a) while the outfielder still has the ball, (b) after F6 catches the ball, or (c) the ball is in motion from the outfield and F6 will probably make a play on B1. RULING: Obstruction in (a); legal in (b); obstruction in (c) if F6 denies access to the base without possession of the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction or not? Illini_Ref Baseball 12 Sun Jun 17, 2012 07:04pm
Obstruction jmkupka Softball 19 Thu Sep 22, 2011 03:47pm
FED Obstruction johnnyg08 Baseball 7 Mon May 03, 2010 01:07pm
Obstruction or not? dddunn3d Baseball 4 Sun Jul 18, 2004 09:09pm
ASA new obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 14 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1