The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally posted by nine01c
Let me try this again. First I mess up the answer to a play, then, I post a baseball question on the basketball forum. Having a tough morning...

Bases loaded, 2 outs. BR is entitled to 1B on BALL 4. For some reason he runs to 1B, dives, and flies over the base without touching it. F2 throws down to F3 who tags BR lying on the ground past the base. Is BR OUT? Does the run count?
If you follow the interps / rules (I think some make it explicit?) that BR is allowed to overrun first on a walk, then BR is safe on the tag, but can be appealed for an out. If the appeal is made, no run scores.

If you follow the interps / rules (e.g., FED) that BR is not allowed to overrun first, then he's out on the tag, but the run scores. If the defense now makes a valid appeal, the run doesn't score.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1