![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Not in my game (in the play presented).
I *think* there's some wording to the effect you mention in the book -- but it's intended (imo) to apply where Br is obstructed rounding first and is awarded third -- of course he must touch second or be liable to be out on appeal. It isn't meant to apply in situations like the OP. |
|
|||
|
In this play, home must be touched.
The J/R ruling regarding "if the OBS is the proximate cause of the runner missing the base," applies to cases like this: Runner rounding first heading toward 2nd is prevented from touching first by F3, and continues to 2nd safely. Defense then appeals the miss at first.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I think we would have to know how the umpire called the obstruction. If he called time "that's obstruction, you home" I think the runner would know to touch home. If he called "that's obstruction, safe" I would not allow the appeal.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In any event, the defense messed up, so 100% of the benefit of the doubt to the offense here. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Does anyone have obstruction here? | Stu Clary | Baseball | 8 | Wed Aug 17, 2011 12:27pm |
| obstruction or out | umpharp | Softball | 19 | Wed Jul 08, 2009 02:27pm |
| Obstruction or not? | dddunn3d | Baseball | 4 | Sun Jul 18, 2004 09:09pm |
| ASA new obstruction | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 14 | Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:56am |
| Obstruction | sprivitor | Softball | 6 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:19pm |