![]() |
|
|||
ASA - No runs will score if....
ASA rules. R1 on 3rd, R2 on first. One out.
Illegal pitch is called. On the pitch, B3 hits a ground ball toward F4, when the ball hits R2 on their way to second base. All fielders were behind the runner. What's the call here? My take, and I am sure I've something wrong. Dead ball, R2 out for interference, B3 is awarded first base and R1 returns to 3rd. Now the coach of the offense is given the choice of taking this result, or giving a ball to the batter and R1 scores. R2 is still out. This really stems from a test question that I had asked about last year. "No runs can ever score after interference on a runner is declared." I said true, but was marked wrong. So I'm trying to justify any situation where a run DOES score AFTER interference on a RUNNER has been declared. The above situation is all I can think of, but I don't know if the ruling I wrote about is even correct. Can someone clarify? Thanks.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How many runs score? | MNBlue | Softball | 10 | Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am |
How Many Runs Score | David M | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am |
Clock runs during FT.... | zebra44 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 22, 2004 08:36am |
115 runs | Duke | Softball | 9 | Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am |
How many runs score? | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Wed Mar 10, 2004 09:29am |