![]() |
|
|
|||
2 men on base
Anybody see the trail runner get tagged?
Baseball Oddities | TB@BOS: The Rays turn an odd double play in the sixth - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia |
|
|||
I watched this last night and initially I did not see him tagged. I have not looked at it since, but I think it was missed.
There was another play on R1 for San Diego last night that also I don't think was tagged and called out...I think it cost SD a run.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
The players should be embarassed that they didn't know the rules, and the umpiring crew should be embarassed that either 1)U3 thought the trailing runned was tagged (he wasn't) or 2)U3 "automatically" had an out on the trailing runner when both occupied the base (surely he knows better).
To stand there and make no call would be difficult. I think the tendency is to make SOME sort of call. If U3 makes no call then it's likey F2 fixes his mistake and tagges the trailing runner. |
|
|||
Didn't he make a call and actually point at the runner calling him out?
Then PU called him out again? That's how I remember seeing it...was it different in the clip you posted?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
On watching the video many times I see Patterson lying on the ground, arms stretched but not touching third base as he was trying to get back to third base while F2 touchs him for an out. I never see Martinez getting touched nor do I see both Patterson and Martinez occupying third base at the same time. How can Martinez be called out?
The third base coach should have put up more of a fight on this one. If I am missing something please tell me but I dont see how the crew got this right. I had a very similar play a few months ago in a Men's league. Same situation with runners, B3 hits ground ball to F4, R2 breaks for third base while R3 heads for home. R3 decides to go back to third base and I have both R2 and R3 on third base as the same time. Someone on the Defense tells F2 (he had the ball) to touch R2 after doing so I point and look at R2 and call him out. Then for some unknown reason R3 steps off the base and F2 touchs him too for an inning over DP. The offense puts up a little fight saying how can that be and the same thing happened to them the night before. I explain the rule to them and think to myself (if this just happened to you last night and you still havent learned, then it sucks to be YOU). |
|
|||
Quote:
Righteous call! |
|
|||
Quote:
For the record, I'm an NL fan and don't have a dog in this fight. Last edited by RadioBlue; Fri Sep 10, 2010 at 11:12am. Reason: clarifying Patterson was off the base during the tag |
|
|||
Quote:
On the replay that I saw, Patterson was off the bag when he was tagged and Martinez was standing on the bag when he was tagged next. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base | NCASAUmp | Softball | 20 | Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am |
1st base or 3rd base extended? | JR12 | Baseball | 21 | Wed Apr 18, 2007 01:16pm |
what's base is your favorite base to pay? | softballbabe14 | Softball | 5 | Wed Mar 30, 2005 10:01pm |
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here | Tap | Softball | 9 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm |
first base safety base | sneallyk | Baseball | 3 | Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm |