The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Detached Equipment on a Foul Fly

Sitting around, in near post NFHS season, this one was discussed:

No outs; no one on; not that it matters. B1 hits a fly that is obviously foul, near the fence. F3, just being silly, catches the ball in her hat.

8-4-3 would not apply because it's not a fair ball; no three base award. But, it's not a catch, yet, since the ball is not held in hand or glove. When the ball is pulled out of the hat and is then held securly in the hand, is it a catch at that point?

I think it is not, but what rule makes it so?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caught Foul Ball off of Equipment Fritz Baseball 15 Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:49am
detached equipment ggk Baseball 17 Sun Jan 20, 2008 01:21am
Detached Equipment rwest Softball 6 Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm
Detached Equip - Ball foul BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am
Detached Equiptment dan_renninger Baseball 4 Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1