The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
Is inadvertant contact on a force still interference?

Sitch: I'm BU in the "C". Bases loaded, one out. Grounder to F4 who relays to F6 to start the DP. As F6 is coming across the bag, he catches the throw which is a little behind him. After he has made the force and is transferring to throw to first, he contacts R1, who did not slide, but also did nothing intentional - merely ran straight to the base and did not overrun the base. As a result of the contact, the ball comes loose and no throw was made to first.

As my partner nor I saw anything intentional in the runner's actions, and he did nothing illegal, he did not call interference and get the DP. Defensive coach wants the DP, as would have ended the game. Partner and I get together, and we agree there was nothing intentional and we played on.

Am I overthinking this now...does the fact he is now a retired runner negate the fact that it was incidental contact, and since the contact did alter the play, we should have gotten the DP? Again, he did nothing illegal, but ran straight to the base without overrunning the base.

The two runs that scored tied the game. Defensive team ended up winning the game in B7 on a wild throw from the pitcher to the catcher on a bases-loaded dribbler, trying for the force at home.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

scarolinablue,

Depends on the rule code.

Under OBR rules, that sounds like "nothing" (at least as I'm picturing it).

Under FED rules, this is clearly an FPSR violation and both the R1 and the BR would be out.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Where is the "clear" FPSR violation? The runner is not required to slide, he did not overrun the base and he did not intentionally interfere. The FPSR requires illegal contact and/or altering of the play to be enforced. I think you got it right.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Where is the "clear" FPSR violation? The runner is not required to slide, he did not overrun the base and he did not intentionally interfere. The FPSR requires illegal contact and/or altering of the play to be enforced. I think you got it right.
Don't just read 8-4-2b. Read 8-4-2f. There was no attempt to avoid contact with the fielder on a force play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
It was after re-reading 8-4-2f that I started questioning the call. There was no attempt to avoid, but it was also a relatively close play on the force - not quite a banger, but they didn't have the runner by 5 steps, either. Maybe you HTBT, and maybe it could have been called either way. I see it in a bit of a gray area, and could defend either call.

Interested in more opinions, if there are any. Is there a gray area here? Or, if there was enough time to begin the transfer of the ball from the glove to the throwing hand, was there enough time to avoid? Would this be more like not sliding and letting the throw hit you - but that would be intentional, wouldn't it? This contact was clearly not intentional. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarolinablue View Post
There was no attempt to avoid,
Since you were there, and you judged this, then, to me, the answer is clear--there was illegal contact per 8-4-2f. The rule is quite explicit that there must be an attempt to avoid or a legal slide.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarolinablue View Post
Is there a gray area here?
In the judgment, yes. In the rule, no.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

scarolinablue,

In a FED game this is absolutely an FPSR violation, no "grey area" involved.

In leagues that play with an FPSR (FED, NCAA, American Legion) a "forced" runner has two options:

1. He can make a "legal slide" (there are some variations among codes as to what constitutes a "legal slide")

or

2. He can remain standing as long as he does not make contact with the pivot man OR alter the play.

In your sitch, the R1 chose not to slide and failed to avoid the pivot man AND altered the play. In a league with an FPSR, that IS "illegal contact", regardless of intent, and both the R1 and BR are out, the ball is dead, any other runners return to their TOP base.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
scarolinablue,

Under FED rules, this is clearly an FPSR violation and both the R1 and the BR would be out.

JM
The OP is not CLEARLY a FPSR violation. It is not your typical FPSR violation.

Read Bob Jenkins response.

FED used to have a case play on a similar situation and the ruling was LEGAL. The Case play has since been removed.

Why!

Most likely it caused controversey in some part of the country or it was simply too vague or UNCLEAR to keep in the case book.

I am with Ozzy on this. Definitely a HTBT scenario but IMO the most important part of the OP

The throw was BAD, Fielder had to reach back for the ball.

Right there could be the reason why there was contact. The fielder went to field the errant throw and contacted R1.

Generally speaking in all major rule codes we do not reward the team that errs.

Now if it was a GOOD quality throw and R1 who did not slide was almost at the base path and contacted the fielder, then I would invoke the FPSR.


Not saying it wasn't a FPSR violation; simply pointing out that it is not CLEAR and IMO something that FED needs to clarify.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference / Force Play Slide tjones1 Baseball 25 Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:25pm
Contact on a Force Play - FED cshs81 Baseball 21 Fri Jun 01, 2007 07:29am
Interference without contact WestMichBlue Softball 18 Mon Jan 13, 2003 03:57pm
Force-slide play or just interference? Gre144 Baseball 1 Thu Mar 29, 2001 12:31am
Force slide play and 2 outs or just interference and umpires judgement Gre144 Baseball 5 Mon Mar 26, 2001 07:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1