![]() |
|
|||
![]()
I bet they had to pull the rule book out for this one. Arizona St. QB throws a backward lateral and a Texas trainer May or May not have touched a live ball on the field of play, but there was a official just yards away from the play and did not call anything. But the play review offical must have seen somthing. Not sure that if is a good place for the review. Next they will have the replay offical calling Holding... !!!!!!!!!
|
|
|||
as a sooner fan i dont think that the sideline personell touched the ball.
would be nice to see the play from the reverse angle from the ASU sideline camera but apparently that camera man was focusing on something else
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!" |
|
|||
I thought Replay was supposed to make it so they got the call right. That was pathetic. Then the R could not enforce it.
There is no way in hell that kid touched that ball. The L was right there and made no call. That should tell you something. I never heard what conference the clown R was were from but likely another instance where lesser conference officals can't handle big time football. Pathetic. |
|
|||
Quote:
Uhhhhh. he is from the SEC And you might want to know there are quite a few guys who disagree with your conclusion on the call Are you saying nobody interefered with live ball action? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Replay question - Is it possible the replay official had a view we did not get? |
|
|||
It looked as if he may have touched the ball with his thumb, and if so, it was the right call. There were many guys on the field as the ball bounced towards the sideline and the penalty was warranted, and properly enforced. Downfield 5 yards more another coach was 3-4 yards on the field also.
|
|
|||
I predict POEs for '08:
Helmet to helmet hits. Pants that actually are long enough to cover the knees. Sideline control. And, maybe, adoption of the new basketball rule for the coaches to shut up. Also, the crew gave UT a sideline warning in the fourth quarter. Mack-baby couldn't believe it. But if it ain't enforced in the Big 12 during the season, the SEC boys get to handle it. |
|
|||
Neutral Fan in Attendance
This has to be the most bizarre sequence of events in a football game that I have ever witnessed. From my POV (4th level, in End Zone) it sure looked like the guy on the sideline interfered or touched the ball, ever so briefly. With access to a monitor with the ESPN feed during the review process, it was difficult to tell. But, they certainly took long enough with the review that I'd like to think that it the proper call was made.
From a non-official's perspective, it seems to me that maybe the R might have made the UT sideline guy think the ball was dead because he threw his flag instead of the beanbag (of course, the R then announced that there could be no IG penalty on a backwards pass, which makes me think that he initially was going to call an incompletion and a foul for IG, then realized his mistake). Then, the whole enforcement issue got to be somewhat tedious (it was hard to hear the R's microphone explanations tonight). This play will certainly make all the highlight reels for awhile though. As an aside, during the second quarter, the R and the TV Timeout guy started bickering with each other during stoppages in play after changes of possession. Twice the TV guy was giving the "keep it going" signal and the R was giving him the arms out/palms up, "WTF?" look and gesture. On the second time, the R ran all the way down to my end where the TV guy was and they had a very animated conversation, the R was definitely unhappy with something having to do with not taking the TV timeouts. Very strange. |
|
|||
Were they correct in making that call from the booth? Can that actually be reviewed.
Did the referee throw a flag for intentional grounding? Did any official on the field throw a sideline interference penalty on that play? This whole thing confused me, and without tivo I'm going crazy trying to find the exact sequence of events. Did they enforce that penalty from the previous spot, or the succeeding spot? The fact that the asshat on the sideline did or didn't touch the ball is irrelevant. They clearly interfered with a live ball by just having so many people on the sideline. Hell, the following play, Texas' defensive coordinator, Duane Akina, was on the field inside the 20 barking at the referee. I'm a Texas fan and was irritated that the white hat didn't flag him for another unsportsmanlike.
__________________
Currently operating without a signature. |
|
|||
We had a very brief thread on this over on the basketball forum. Someone posted the following and I was interested in your take. I do NOT know the football rules. When it comes to that sport, I'm just a fan (and not of either team that was involved in this game).
Quote:
|
|
|||
The play: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSqRgzjl2m8
Penalty was enforced from previous spot. Appears crew got 2 different fouls and penalties confused and the enforcement reflected a "blend", i.e. 1 certain foul but with the enforcement that is mandated for the other foul. If the determination was that the ball or other players were interfered with, then the R can enforce any penalty he deems equitable. If he thinks it is equitable to enforce from prev spot. 1/2 the distance, but no replay of down, so be it. I do not think that is what he was doing though. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Holiday Wishes | SanDiegoSteve | Baseball | 34 | Wed Dec 26, 2007 09:02am |
Texas vs Texas Tech Play | carldog | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm |
Jewish Holiday? | JRutledge | Football | 6 | Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:37am |
Holiday Bowl | ABoselli | Football | 5 | Mon Dec 30, 2002 02:06pm |
Texas/Texas Tech officials | johnSandlin | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am |