The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 30, 2007, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Authorized person

This happened to one of our umpires in a FED game, looking for your comments as to the correct ruling from FED guys:

R2, 0 outs. Ground ball to third. F5 throws to first. R2 starts advancing to third on the throw. Throw goes wide of the F3, and hits an assistant DEFENSIVE coach who was standing outside of the dugout/team bench area by a few feet.

The ball MAY (or may not) have gone into DBT if it had not hit the coach.

Does the ball become dead, or remain alive?

(As an aside: These umpires kept the ball alive. R2 scored and B/R reached second...they agreed that this is where the runners would have gone had the ball gone out of play...but they were wondering if the ball should have been killed and bases awarded.)

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
authorized reason cmathews Basketball 17 Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:17pm
Authorized Conferences Suudy Football 7 Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:24am
Authorized conferences Nyjets Football 3 Tue Sep 16, 2003 12:23pm
3 Person denref Basketball 19 Tue Feb 25, 2003 01:18am
2-person all season, 3-person for tournament twoblindrefs Basketball 19 Thu Jan 16, 2003 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1