The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 13, 2004, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Hey guys,
Been lurking around for a while, but figured I would finally tap your minds.

Here you go:
On a long kick, (free or scrimmage) R muffs the ball at his 4-yd line. Seeing the kicking team bear down on him, he then illegally bats the ball from the 4 into the end zone for a touchback. This is how i see it enforced (NF):

Scrimmage kick: half the distance from the spot of the foul because it is behind the PSK spot of the 20 (from the touchback). So R's ball on the 2

Free kick: The way i see it, on free kicks it will not be a spot foul because the kick never ended. So the basic spot would then be the succeeding spot (the 20 from the touchback) and then half the distance from there. So R's ball on the 10.


The free kick enforcement just doesn't seem right, though, since R gains from committing a foul. So what am I missing?


This almost happened in a game for me last week but my partner covering the receiver ruled a second muff forced it into the endzone rather than an illegal bat.

Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1