Yeah I got thinking about that after I posted it and did not have a chance to correct it.
That is a pain of a rule tho because by muffing it K can recover and have it be their ball (tho they cannot advance it). So in essence by muffing the kick, R has in a sense established possession since they can lose it if K recovers. Plus in this case, it is obvious that R caused the ball to go thru the end zone. They should be penalized (more than 2 yards in this case). That is a play that is going to cause the K team to have a fit if they do not know the rule.
Maybe a good rules change would be that the kick is over once R has touched the ball.
__________________
Jim
Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
|