Hey guys,
Been lurking around for a while, but figured I would finally tap your minds.
Here you go:
On a long kick, (free or scrimmage) R muffs the ball at his 4-yd line. Seeing the kicking team bear down on him, he then illegally bats the ball from the 4 into the end zone for a touchback. This is how i see it enforced (NF):
Scrimmage kick: half the distance from the spot of the foul because it is behind the PSK spot of the 20 (from the touchback). So R's ball on the 2
Free kick: The way i see it, on free kicks it will not be a spot foul because the kick never ended. So the basic spot would then be the succeeding spot (the 20 from the touchback) and then half the distance from there. So R's ball on the 10.
The free kick enforcement just doesn't seem right, though, since R gains from committing a foul. So what am I missing?
This almost happened in a game for me last week but my partner covering the receiver ruled a second muff forced it into the endzone rather than an illegal bat.
Thanks a lot.
|