![]() |
|
|||
Well - it was a strike wasn't it? What's the batter's status when s/he has three strikes?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
On strike 3, without being hit by the ball, the ball is live. His question is, if struck by the ball on strike 3, is the ball live or not? Your rhetorical question offered no insight or answer to his question. I don't know the answer either. Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk |
|
|||
This is from ASA:
8.1.2. b. Penalty 2. If the batter is hit anywhere on the body, including on the hands, while swinging at a pitch, and hits the ball fair or foul, the ball is dead and a strike called. If it is strike three, the batter is out. Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
Learn to think things through. In doing so the poster discovers the answer through the challenge. Teach a man to fish.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
Check out USA/ASA Rule 7.6.A Rule 7, SECTION 6 – THE BATTER IS OUT A. When the third strike is: 1. Swung at and the pitched ball touches any part of the batter’s person. 2. Not swung at, and the ball hits the batter while the ball is in the strike zone. 3. A pitched ball, in the umpire’s judgment, which was prevented from entering the strike zone by actions of the batter other than hitting the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yes, which is why you need a special rule because the BR cannot advance but the catcher can't pick up the ball and tag her either.
|
|
|||
No, you don't need a special rule. A dead ball is a dead ball. What can happen during a dead ball?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
A runner can be called out on appeal for failing to touch second and her coach can be tossed for arguing about it. Neither is particularly relevant here. I'm not sure what you're trying to argue. If there wasn't a rule making the batter on a dead ball strike 3, she wouldn't be out, she'd be entitled to advance with liability to be put out which would be awkward with the ball being dead.
|
|
|||
Quote:
And she would be out. The strike comes first, the contact with the batter second. Always has been dating back to the 1930s
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Yes, but one is not out for getting three strikes unless the third one is caught or first base is occupied. (Or the batter gets hit but that was my point is that there's a rule for that.)
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter swinging at a pitch late | Backjudge79 | Baseball | 8 | Thu May 16, 2013 12:47pm |
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike | bfoster | Baseball | 19 | Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm |
Fast pitch - batter "catches" the pitch | Dakota | Softball | 16 | Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:06am |
NFHS – Batter hit by pitch swinging – 3rd strike out? | Angler | Softball | 2 | Wed May 21, 2008 01:33pm |
Batter hit by the pitch | Bob Joz | Softball | 2 | Mon May 06, 2002 10:21pm |