Thread: Rules Question
View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 10:21am
bisonlj bisonlj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
They had 12 players on the field after the previous play. Unfortunately the video is edited so I can't see if they had 12 on the previous play, or if prior to this play 2 came in and 1 came out, then they made a late change with the injured player and his replacement.

The full video is at the link below. The interesting stuff starts just past 37:30 or so.

Warren (MI) De LaSalle Collegiate @ Birmingham (MI) Brother Rice 2013 - YouTube
Definitely 12 on the field at the snap and the receiver who came in definitely did not get inside the numbers. Not sure if this was an intent to deceive but it should definitely be a foul in this situation for illegal formation and illegal participation. The formation foul becomes irrelevant at that point since since IP is a bigger foul. My guess is the crew did not get a chance to get a count so they got away with one.

We have no idea on the clock for the last play but based on the time for the IG play (that was also missed) there should probably be 2-3 seconds for the last play. I would have started the clock on the RFP but absent the IG call that's not an option.

Go back to the play before the IP/IF. They also badly missed a forward progress spot that should have started the clock on the RFP as well. What about the mechanic of the L releasing before the ball was snapped? And the H starting on the field?
Reply With Quote