The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 21, 2012, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member

Brand New Official

I'm brand new to officiating Basketball but have prior experience with umpiring Baseball. I joined my local HS association of Basketball officials and they have a training program, which the first session included throwing us out on the court with very little prior instruction for 5 minutes of a girls JV game-- wow, was that tough, I ran home and signed up for the state basketball clinic and read my rulebook like the bible.

Anyhow, I really want to be the best official I can possibly be-- I know that there are camps during the summer for referees but that won't help me for the fast approaching session, are there any clinics in the Miami area or state of Florida that are this fall?

Thankyou in advance,
Travis
Old Sat Sep 22, 2012, 02:48am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisFL View Post
I'm brand new to officiating Basketball but have prior experience with umpiring Baseball. I joined my local HS association of Basketball officials and they have a training program, which the first session included throwing us out on the court with very little prior instruction for 5 minutes of a girls JV game-- wow, was that tough, I ran home and signed up for the state basketball clinic and read my rulebook like the bible.

Anyhow, I really want to be the best official I can possibly be-- I know that there are camps during the summer for referees but that won't help me for the fast approaching session, are there any clinics in the Miami area or state of Florida that are this fall?

Thankyou in advance,
Travis
Welcome to BB officiating and to the forum. The ole' wizened ones will be along soon with the real pearls of wisdom.
Old Sat Sep 22, 2012, 04:10am