![]() |
|
|
|||
King, by rule, I think you are correct. Of course, I have a problem with that rule since the coach actually gets the time out and because it is a time out, she can then make the correction. If we were able to ignore her time out, then her team would have been penalized for either 5 second count or illegal Libero replacement.
If I thought her time out request was made knowing she heard my whistle, I would have yellow carded her for unsportsmanlike.
__________________
[FONT="Arial"]["You must be the change you want to see in the world."-Gandhi/FONT] |
|
|||
Quote:
In this order: - Motion everyone back onto the court - Call captain over to the stand and your R2 - Explain why you're issuing a yellow card and that the next dead ball will result into the unnecessary delay's forced timeout. "Your coach's actions are unsportsmanlike, thus you are receiving a yellow card. The time out will be forced subsequent to the next dead ball." - Hold up yellow card (and verbalize? I think you verbalize in HS) - Beckon for serve - Award the point as appropriate - Forced time out against that team It wouldn't be a big deal if your R2 didn't acknowledge it. Since they did, that makes it worse, so I think a YC AND the forced timeout is adequate punishment, especially since your initial beckon for serve whistle was well before she called for the TO. Last edited by Antonio.King; Tue Sep 27, 2011 at 03:56am. |
|
|||
Sorry, Antonio, but in this instance you are totally incorrect. We can not double penalize a team for a single infraction. The R2 screwed up by blowing the whistle for a Time-Out after the beckon for serve...BIG TIME! However, once the error was discovered, the teams return to the court immediately...by Rule 9-9-1, no unnecessary delay has occurred, so that is not an option. In addition, since we don't know what the coach was thinking, a yellow card is unwarranted...no unsporting act has taken place...the R2 simply made a major error!
Quote:
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Jan, I don't have the rule book in front of me but was looking at it yesterday regarding this situation. Since I blew the whistle for serve and then all these shenanigans took place before the ball was ever served, wouldn't this we a reserve as opposed to a re-play? On a reserve, no exchanges, time outs, libero replacements can take place. If this is the case, I should have not allowed the replacement after everyone came back on the court and then beckoned for serve and then issued a illegal alignment penalty.
If I remember correctly, the re-serve information is the the Serve section of the rule book.
__________________
[FONT="Arial"]["You must be the change you want to see in the world."-Gandhi/FONT] |
|
|||
I believe Jan is correct - will take a look at it tonight. FWIW the R2 really screwed the pooch on this one - I hope you had a serious heart-to-heart with them.......
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
rule 5.3.3, case book page 17, situation C after the first referee whistles and signals for the serve, the second referee sounds the whistle for a substitution.
Ruling: incorrect procedure, the ball is dead, substitution is denied, and a new whistle and signal for serve is given. In my defense on this rule, I am substituting the word sub for time out, in either case the 2nd referee blew a whistle. By rule, you recognize the whistle, replay, sub and or time out is denied! I do agree with MCbear, that no card is warranted in this situation. However, disagree with the fact the statement it is a free pass of allowing the subs. It is an inadverant whistle by R2, replay any corrective actions/timeouts are denied, by rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
There was a delay. And it certainly was unnecessary. So one could easily make a case for this being an unnecessary delay. Just saying.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Strange, almost troll like, situation | Justme | Baseball | 38 | Sun Feb 18, 2007 03:51pm |
another strange situation | umpduck11 | Baseball | 7 | Tue Aug 03, 2004 08:29pm |
Advice...Strange Situation | SFull3 | Basketball | 16 | Wed Feb 04, 2004 09:00am |
Strange OOB Situation | Hoosier Daddy | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 19, 2003 10:31am |
Strange jumpball situation | Art N | Basketball | 5 | Fri Mar 10, 2000 09:30am |