The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member

first year volleyball official

I registered to be a volleyball official for the first time this year. I have never done volleyball before in my life, and I am nervous. I looked through the rulebook and officials manual, and I am confused on rotations, screening, overlapping. any advice for me? I have my first match in 2 weeks and I'm clueless
Old Thu Aug 20, 2009, 03:39pm
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
refinks, welcome to volleyball officiating. What level is your match - HS, MS or JH? Do you feel ready to officiate? Contact a respected local vb official who has experience and ask questions. Ask if he/she would be willing to mentor you.
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Old Fri Aug 21, 2009, 01:09am
Official Forum Member

It is JH, and yes, I think I will be ready. I am going to a clinic this weekend and working some scrimmages next weekend. I've always heard vb will be easy to pick up, so I'm hoping I have no troubles
Old Fri Aug 21, 2009, 01:32am
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Boy, did someone ever feed you a line! It's only easy if you aren't willing to make the effort to learn how to officiate the sport correctly with knowledge and understanding. Like I said, find a respected volleyball referee in your area to be a mentor for you. Good luck,