The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 08:18pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
IR or nothing?

As always, NCAA-W rules.

This situation came up today while I was R2. Visiting team serves and home team loses the rally. So there is a rotation. There was some confusion on the home bench about whether someone was going into the game. The R1 waited a few seconds, then beckoned the serve. Right after the whistle for service, home coach yells, "Yes, sub" and a player steps into the substitution area.

1) At this point, do I have to blow the whistle (since the player came into the substitution area)?

2) Regardless of the answer to #1, I did blow the whistle. So this becomes an improper request, correct? Penalize with a yellow card, warning? And no sub is allowed?

To make it really strange, the "sub" was actually replacing the libero, who had just rotated to the front row. So when I denied the "substitution", they automatically had a position fault.

Did I totally screw the home team? Did they do it to themselves? Or some combo?

Now that I'm thinking about it, could they have taken a time-out and then replaced the libero?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1