The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member

Question Testing the waters

I've refereed one year of church league volleyball, and enjoyed it. This weekend one of our local HS volleyball big wigs gave her best shot at talking me into signing up to do HS volleyball. I think she may have succeeded.

But before I dive in head first, further complicating my life since I also do HS basketball, what do you folks like and dislike about HS volleyball? Are there things as a wide-eyed rookie I ought to know before really deciding? Any advice for the guy sitting on the fence?
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member

Check this thread from the basketball board about a month ago......

Volleyball anyone?
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 06:13am
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Back In The Saddle, please see my response on the thread that Andy posted. If you want to do volleyball, my first recommendation is to find a current volleyball official whom you know and respect, then ask them if they would be willing to mentor you as you learn the art of officiating the sport of volleyball.

Another possible suggestion, contact your regional USAV office and start reffing club volleyball. You will do as many matches in one club season as you will do in 8-10 seasons of high school volleyball.

If I can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact me.
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member