The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Testing the waters (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/38147-testing-waters.html)

Back In The Saddle Mon Sep 10, 2007 03:38pm

Testing the waters

I've refereed one year of church league volleyball, and enjoyed it. This weekend one of our local HS volleyball big wigs gave her best shot at talking me into signing up to do HS volleyball. I think she may have succeeded.

But before I dive in head first, further complicating my life since I also do HS basketball, what do you folks like and dislike about HS volleyball? Are there things as a wide-eyed rookie I ought to know before really deciding? Any advice for the guy sitting on the fence?

Andy Mon Sep 10, 2007 06:01pm

Check this thread from the basketball board about a month ago......

http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=37499

MCBear Tue Sep 11, 2007 06:13am

Back In The Saddle, please see my response on the thread that Andy posted. If you want to do volleyball, my first recommendation is to find a current volleyball official whom you know and respect, then ask them if they would be willing to mentor you as you learn the art of officiating the sport of volleyball.

Another possible suggestion, contact your regional USAV office and start reffing club volleyball. You will do as many matches in one club season as you will do in 8-10 seasons of high school volleyball.

If I can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact me.

Back In The Saddle Tue Sep 11, 2007 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MCBear
Back In The Saddle, please see my response on the thread that Andy posted. If you want to do volleyball, my first recommendation is to find a current volleyball official whom you know and respect, then ask them if they would be willing to mentor you as you learn the art of officiating the sport of volleyball.