The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 787
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Jan,

Good explanation. In this scenario, the illegal replacement takes place before the contact of service (or even the beckon for service), thus, should be penalized before any illegal alignment penalty.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2007, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
I agree guys, but this applies only if the libero is already on the court & doing the double replacement (which is the original situation posed in the post). If libero comes off the bench to serve in the wrong service order position, then there is no UD.....wait for contact & signal IA.

SITUATION 7: The Team S libero has served in the current game in position No. 3 of the serve order (in replacement of starting player No. 5). Later in the same game, the libero comes from the bench to replace starting player No. 7, who has just rotated to the right back position and prepares to serve. The officials are aware that the libero cannot serve in this second position. The official (a) whistles/signals illegal alignment; (b) whistles/ signals for serve, waits for the contact of the serve by the libero and whistles/signals improper server; (c) whistles/signals delay of game. RULING: (a) and (c) Incorrect procedures; (b) correct procedure. COMMENT: There is nothing improper or illegal about the libero coming from the bench to replace a back row player. The officials should treat this situation as any other potential wrong server and wait until the contact of the serve before assessing illegal alignment/improper server. Once the penalty is assessed, the libero can remain on the court in replacement of No. 7 as a rally has occurred. (8-2-5d, 10-4-1a)

Also in situation 15 both options a & c are noted as correct - which one you go to depends on when the officials intervene.......

Last edited by TimTaylor; Mon Sep 10, 2007 at 06:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 06:17am
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Toolman, you are correct, however, the situation posted by varefump WAS while the libero was on the court, not coming from the bench to serve in an incorrect position.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear
Toolman, you are correct, however, the situation posted by varefump WAS while the libero was on the court, not coming from the bench to serve in an incorrect position.
No argument from me Jan. The thing is, situation 15 is pretty ambiguous in that it says that both the UD/TO and IA/LOR are correct procedures in this situation, depending on when the officials intervene - and it doesn't indicate in any way which is preferable.

I'd hope to catch it before the serve & use the UD/TO route, but the way the interpretation is written, either procedure is technically correct.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2007, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 787
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Tim,

As a rule of thumb, anytime you can assess a penalty that is less severe than a loss of rally, it's preferred. Ideally, you want to catch the illegal replacement before the beckon of service, so as not to have to assess an illegal allignment penalty.

I don't think they are trying to say that there is no preference, just that if you can get it early enough, the penalty would be UD, and if after the beckon, IA. But UD is almost always "better," so catching it as early as possible is most preferred.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
penalty sm_bbcoach Football 4 Fri Oct 27, 2006 04:16am
what is the penalty for clippy Football 2 Sun Aug 27, 2006 08:16pm
What's the penalty for..... WooPigSooie Baseball 23 Mon May 15, 2006 09:46am
PIT Penalty jack015 Football 10 Wed Jan 25, 2006 11:41pm
Penalty on Try lds7199 Football 13 Tue Nov 01, 2005 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1