The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 11, 2005, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
[/quote]

Not really, other than maybe these are a couple of the officials that seem to think that you can't legally take a first ball in your hands? [/B][/QUOTE]

If by that you mean nothing on the serve with an overhead action rather than underhand, that is the only thing that I can figure they were calling. I worked with one of their partners a couple of nights after that. I asked her and she said that she didn't understand the calls and would have allowed the play to continue, but she was the U nor the R.

So am I correct? A back row player can contact the ball with an overhead pass (setting action) [Rule 9:5 Art 1, Def'n 2] on a serve so long as you do not play the ball back across the net? Thanks for the input. I really love officiating volleyball and want to make sure I have it right. RR

__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1