| 
			
			Well, if I can mentally picture what you're trying to ask...
 It sounds like they need to learn the concept of illegal hit.  If it wasn't mishandled, it's not an illegal hit.  It's not illegal for any back row player to attack a ball that is not entirely above the net.  In addition, if the back row player was behind the attack line, unless it's a libero, it wouldn't even matter if the ball was entirely above the net (unless we're talking about a two handed return of a served ball, in which case it would be illegal to attack, under NFHS rules, while entirely above the net).
 
 If you see them again, you may want to ask what their rationale was for determining this to be an illegal hit or attack.  I'd love to know...
 
				__________________Felix A. Madera
 USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
 FIVB Qualified International Scorer
 PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
 WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
 |