The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 21, 2004, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 123
I agree with mgaeta that it may have appeared to touch the blocker when in fact, the ball only touched the tape. In that case, the official should have told the coach the ball was not touched by the blocker, instead of saying it never cleared the net. I have seen this happen many times, but that is one of those had-to-be-there plays.

I do not understand the interpretation given by Omnispiker. It is irrelevant if the official feels the ball will not or does not clear the net. If a blocker contacts a ball which then falls out of bounds, the attacking team receives the point. The play is not dead until a player commits a foul or the ball is dead (touches the floor, hits the antenna, etc.).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1