The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 20, 2004, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Ok, I am an official but due to DD playing JV I am spectating alot this year. Had a call (3 of the same calls) in Varsity match, that I couldn't justify to the other fans last night. Here is play, our 3rd hit is heading to net, it hits the tape at the same time it blocked by other team, and heads sharply out of bounds. Up official rules that is never cleared the net. Now what am I missing here?? On the 3rd hit you can block the ball over the net, or at least hit it at the plane of the net meaning the ball does not completely clear the net, correct?? So if the other team blocked it and it went out of bounds, who is that not a point for us? If they would have left it alone (no one will know if it would have cleared the net or not) and it did not clear the net then no brainer it was our fault, their point. But since they hit it don't they take responsiblity for the ball going out of bounds? When coach qhestioned call the only response he got was "the ball never cleared the net coach". What say you all? As an official I am very good at not bad mouthing other officials from the stands, he/she must have had a better angle than me, they saw something I didn't etc. But this one made me feel like they flat out missed this call. Am I missing somethign???
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1