The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 3.86 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2022, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,756
Blocking Outside the Antenna

Can front row B1 block a ball that is on A's side of the net but is outside the antenna? Does it matter whether B's hands pass inside or outside the antenna?

In one particular play, team A had completed it's third hit and the ball was obviously going to pass outside the antenna, but before it did so, B reached over outside the antenna and caught the ball (why? I don't know.)

FED rules, if it matters (and I think it does)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2022, 11:19am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,439
It's a playable area. So as long as the ball hasn't passed completely outside the antenna, I'm going to say it's legal (although stupid) to play it. Continue play after the block.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 22, 2022, 05:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
It's a playable area. So as long as the ball hasn't passed completely outside the antenna, I'm going to say it's legal (although stupid) to play it. Continue play after the block.
That's what I have -- is it illegal to reach (or to touch the ball) outside the antenna in other codes?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 10:52am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,439
I'll have to check NCAA to be 100% sure, but I'm pretty sure it's not a fault to play the ball outside the antenna (as long as you don't contact the antenna itself, obviously).

USAV still has a pursuit rule, so it's definitely legal to play outside the antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2022, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I'll have to check NCAA to be 100% sure, but I'm pretty sure it's not a fault to play the ball outside the antenna (as long as you don't contact the antenna itself, obviously).

USAV still has a pursuit rule, so it's definitely legal to play outside the antenna.
I looked at an NCAA book last night (a couple of years old) and it's illegal in that code
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Court setup - antenna placement on net genetoy71 Volleyball 5 Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:34pm
Ball contacting net outside of antenna (not 3rd hit) bbodb1 Volleyball 3 Wed Sep 26, 2018 01:34pm
joust into antenna Sco53 Volleyball 1 Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:54pm
Blocking from behind Jersey Ref Football 11 Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:23am
Blocking carldog Basketball 16 Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1