The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2022, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Just curious - what did the discussion at your association meeting center around? Seems like a fairly cut and dried situation made simple by the fact that both of players you highlighted were back row. Given your scenario, it would be illegal attack by Team A if and when the ball is legally contacted by Team B or hits the floor on Team B's side. If the ball is not legally contacted by Team B (a. and b. in your scenario) then Team B is penalized for an illegal block. Illegal attack on Team A in c. A smart Team B will just let the ball go (assuming they realize the Team A setter is back row).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 05, 2022, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,213
The discussion centered around play (b) -- double violation or BRA or BRB?

9-5-5 Note says it's an illegal attack when the ball is "contacted" (not "legally contacted") and 9-4-4b says the ball has crossed the net when its' "partially over the net and is contacted..." (again, no "legally").
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 09, 2022, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
On giving Situation "b" further consideration and reviewing NFHS rule book and case book, I believe the correct ruling would be double fault, replay. The attack was illegal but the fault is not called until the ball is contacted. If the contact is also illegal then there is a double fault (simultaneous faults by opposing teams) during a live ball - double fault, replay.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
...9-5-5 Note says it's an illegal attack when the ball is "contacted" (not "legally contacted") and 9-4-4b says the ball has crossed the net when its' "partially over the net and is contacted..." (again, no "legally").
From 2020-2021 Case Book and Officials Manual - 9.5.5 NOTE SITUATION E, COMMENT: "An illegal back-row attack shall not be called until the ball has completely crossed the net or is legally blocked by the opponent."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2022, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
From 2020-2021 Case Book and Officials Manual - 9.5.5 NOTE SITUATION E, COMMENT: "An illegal back-row attack shall not be called until the ball has completely crossed the net or is legally blocked by the opponent."
Yep -- more confusion; thus the discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2022, 08:47pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
it would be illegal attack by Team A if and when the ball is legally contacted by Team B or hits the floor on Team B's side.
Is this the Federation rule? The ball has to be touched or hit the floor to be a completed attack hit? I thought it was a completed attack when the ball completely crossed the plane of the net.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2022, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Is this the Federation rule? The ball has to be touched or hit the floor to be a completed attack hit? I thought it was a completed attack when the ball completely crossed the plane of the net.
Correct - contacted or cross the net. When BRA situations happen, I try to have a "patient" whistle to make sure I mentally process everything correctly. My mechanic is to wait an extra split-second and let the ball hit the floor if it is not going to be contacted. You are correct, though - my mechanic does not equal the definition and I should have been more clear on that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2022, 08:31pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by genetoy71 View Post
Correct - contacted or cross the net. When BRA situations happen, I try to have a "patient" whistle to make sure I mentally process everything correctly. My mechanic is to wait an extra split-second and let the ball hit the floor if it is not going to be contacted. You are correct, though - my mechanic does not equal the definition and I should have been more clear on that.
Understood. Thanks for the clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1