The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2021, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Potential Screen

V match (if it matters). Libero is LB. Just prior to the server contacting the ball, L would run near the end line directly in front of the server, from the server's left to the server's right.

This only happened in this rotation (not the similar rotation 3 rotations later when L is also LB).

Would you call the screening violation? Subtly try to tell L not to do it? Ignore it? Other?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2021, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 66
First we need to make sure all the elements of screening exist. Does the server serve the ball directly over the L who is running past her? Is the serve low and fast? Are players on the receiving team having to adjust or move their positioning because their view is "screened" by the L running past the server? If all this is not occurring, then we don't have a screen. Next would be is the L in the correct position at the time of the server contacting the ball? If she is, then there is no illegal alignment issue. There is nothing in the rules that says players cannot move around. As long as they are not violating the rules in the rulebook, let it go.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2021, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony.oe4 View Post
First we need to make sure all the elements of screening exist. Does the server serve the ball directly over the L who is running past her? Is the serve low and fast? Are players on the receiving team having to adjust or move their positioning because their view is "screened" by the L running past the server? If all this is not occurring, then we don't have a screen. Next would be is the L in the correct position at the time of the server contacting the ball? If she is, then there is no illegal alignment issue. There is nothing in the rules that says players cannot move around. As long as they are not violating the rules in the rulebook, let it go.
Yes,the low and fast serve was directly over the L. The receiving team didn't adjust, but a couple of serves were aces (I recognize that's not the rule). L was in the right spot and remained in the right spot.

I did let it go -- but thanks for the info; it's helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential blocker or not? Illini_Ref Football 17 Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:13am
Potential for a big mess.... Andy Softball 36 Tue Apr 12, 2011 06:31pm
Potential litigation? fullor30 Basketball 14 Sun Jan 17, 2010 02:30pm
Potential new official? 26 Year Gap Basketball 4 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:11am
Another potential balk Nall23 Baseball 4 Wed Jun 04, 2003 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1