The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2018, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Almost a Mid-air Collision

During the 1st third of the season I was reffing a 4A high school match as R1 and witnessed something I had never seen before in all of my many years of officiating volleyball. The receiving team passes a served ball high and to the front court to an area about 6' from the net & about 10' in from the strong side sideline. The back row setter hustles up and starts a jump set while the strong side OH starts and makes an approach to hit the ball. Each seems oblivious of the other. The setter at the top of her jump gets her hands on the ball just as the strong side hitter swings and seemingly hits it out of her hands in what appears to me as simultaneous contact, or two hits. The ball in attack hit mode crosses the net. I think for maybe a 1/3 of a second and allow the play. We play on 'til the end of the rally. I have since talked with two other State Rated officials and neither had seen this play either. Each also said play on. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2018, 05:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Why would you not play on? From the way you describe it, there were not four hits or a back row attack.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2018, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 86
In 20+ years, I've seen nothing like that.

Certainly no need for a whistle, if no violation occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 13, 2018, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
It sounds like you're maybe asking if it was simultaneous contact, and the ball was contacted while entirely above the net, would the setter's contact have resulted in an illegal attack?

Maybe? But don't look for trouble. If you aren't sure a fault occurred, it didn't.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2018, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Cool Almost a mid-air collision

Yes, what I'm seeing are two hits. A back row pass, and a simultaneous contact by the setter (back row) and the OH (strong side). All of this occurred above the height of the net and in front of the 10' line. It was a scenario I'd never seen before.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2018, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jailaye View Post
Yes, what I'm seeing are two hits. A back row pass, and a simultaneous contact by the setter (back row) and the OH (strong side). All of this occurred above the height of the net and in front of the 10' line. It was a scenario I'd never seen before.
Sounds similar to when a team runs a quick attack using a back-row setter. I would say this is a legal play unless you clearly see the ball contact the setter after the attacker OH hits the ball, which by definition makes this an illegal backrow attack as the setters contact would be the third hit, by rule an attack.

I agree that if you feel the contact was simultaneous it is a no call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collision at first BSBAL18 Baseball 5 Mon Jun 18, 2018 07:23am
Collision In A Run Down UnsureAboutCall Baseball 3 Fri May 12, 2017 09:21am
Collision or no collision? big poppa 7 Softball 15 Mon May 18, 2015 09:15am
Collision in the Key iref4him Basketball 10 Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm
F2/R1 collision or is it obs? chas Softball 4 Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1