The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2018, 12:16pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,377
Player changing jersey number

This actually happened to me on Saturday, so I'd like feedback on whether we did the right thing. NCAAW rules.

The team has two players in libero jerseys, conveniently numbered #1 and #2. Libero #1 plays in the first set, and Libero #2 plays second set.

After the second set I overhear the coach tell regular player #10 to go change jerseys. When she comes back out, she is Libero #1. I didn't notice that she had played the second set as #10.

So now she wants to play the third set as #1. Since she started the match as #1, I allowed her to play as #1 and told the coach that she would not be allowed to change numbers going forward.

But should/could she have been sanctioned for playing after changing numbers in the previous set? Or should I not have allowed her to change back to #1, since I knew that she had been #10 in the second set?

Or is there something else I should've done? Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This actually happened to me on Saturday, so I'd like feedback on whether we did the right thing. NCAAW rules.

The team has two players in libero jerseys, conveniently numbered #1 and #2. Libero #1 plays in the first set, and Libero #2 plays second set.

After the second set I overhear the coach tell regular player #10 to go change jerseys. When she comes back out, she is Libero #1. I didn't notice that she had played the second set as #10.

So now she wants to play the third set as #1. Since she started the match as #1, I allowed her to play as #1 and told the coach that she would not be allowed to change numbers going forward.

But should/could she have been sanctioned for playing after changing numbers in the previous set? Or should I not have allowed her to change back to #1, since I knew that she had been #10 in the second set?

Or is there something else I should've done? Any help appreciated.
The correct answer depends on the roster that was submitted prior to the start of the match. It is legal for a player to play as a libero wearing one number and play as a non-libero wearing a different number. In your scenario, the player should have been listed as 10/L1, or something like that. She is then free to play in any set as either Libero #1 or Player #10, but not both. In a five set match she could, for example, play in 3 sets as libero and 2 as a non-libero.

If she was listed only as a single number, then a loss of rally/point is assessed at the beginning of the set, or when she enters the set, and the roster is corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Middleman View Post
The correct answer depends on the roster that was submitted prior to the start of the match. It is legal for a player to play as a libero wearing one number and play as a non-libero wearing a different number. In your scenario, the player should have been listed as 10/L1, or something like that. She is then free to play in any set as either Libero #1 or Player #10, but not both. In a five set match she could, for example, play in 3 sets as libero and 2 as a non-libero.

If she was listed only as a single number, then a loss of rally/point is assessed at the beginning of the set, or when she enters the set, and the roster is corrected.
I'm pretty sure there are no rosters submitted to officials for NCAAW.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 24
7.1.2.8 Once the lineup sheet has been submitted for the first set, players may
not change numbers for the remainder of the match, unless the uniform is
damaged. (Exceptions: Rule 12.3.1.1.3 and Rule 11.3.7.3.)

11.3.7.3 is about blood on the jersey. 12.3.1.1.3 talks about redesignating a libero after an injury.

To me, it looks like you are correct. I don't see anything in the book that allows for a player to change her jersey number in that situation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayla vb View Post
7.1.2.8 Once the lineup sheet has been submitted for the first set, players may
not change numbers for the remainder of the match, unless the uniform is
damaged. (Exceptions: Rule 12.3.1.1.3 and Rule 11.3.7.3.)

11.3.7.3 is about blood on the jersey. 12.3.1.1.3 talks about redesignating a libero after an injury.

To me, it looks like you are correct. I don't see anything in the book that allows for a player to change her jersey number in that situation.
I saw that too -- but I didn't see a penalty listed in my brief perusal. Nor and answer to Scrapper's question about allowing her to "change back" *after* she'd played with the different number.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing to an illegal number Scrapper1 Basketball 8 Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:18pm
Changing a number without reporting the change ??? BillyMac Basketball 1 Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:54pm
Jersey number/scorebook question rockchalk jhawk Basketball 13 Tue Feb 19, 2008 08:51pm
USAV: location of number on jersey dvtaylor Volleyball 2 Sat Dec 08, 2007 02:21am
Wrong Jersey Number on Lineup Card Spence Softball 12 Mon Apr 18, 2005 02:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1