The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 17, 2015, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
back row

PHP Code:
Situation 2JV gamedefinite talent discrepancy between the 2 teamsI'm R1. The significantly better team (for lack of a better description) likes to use quick attacks, where the setter will set the ball and almost immediately an attacker is spiking it. So, in this situation, the setter came from the back row. In this particular instance, for whatever reason, she decided to jump set, and clearly set the ball while it was completely above the net. As soon as the hitter hit the ball over the net on the next hit, I had a back row attack. Coach was very upset, insisting this could not be a back row attack because the setter is not the one that put the ball over the net, but rather one of her teammates did on the next hit. I disagreed, and the coach ended up getting a yellow card from me. A few points later, my partner gave her a red for continuing to argue the call. She eventually quieted down and stayed in the match, but had a few choice words for us after the match. No big deal, but now I'm second guessing myselfDid I make the right call on the back row attackMy partner thought I didbut helike myselfwas unsure of the rule
If the back row setter sets the ball in the front zone when the ball is entirely above the height of the net, two situations are faults. First if the ball is set into the plane of the net and is legally contacted by a blocker or is completely sent over the net, the setter is called with an illegal back row attack. Second, if the ball is blocked into the back row setter in the front zone while any part of her body is higher than the net, the fault is back row block.

In the situation you described, the play was legal, and the coach was correct.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 18, 2015, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
In case 2 you got that call wrong.

If the back row setter played the ball above the net and it was an attack, ball that was directed across the net, then it was a back row attack.

The case you are thinking of is a limit on the libero. If the libero sets a ball with finger action while in the attack zone, and then a front row payer attacks the ball above the net you have a back row attack. This does not apply for other back row players. So a back row setter may set the ball above the height of the net as long as it is not directed across the net or into a legal blocker (above the net and played by the other team).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 18, 2015, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Sit#1 - you are correct

Sit#2 - you were incorrect and the coach was right

pavbref gave you the correct rule.

I agree with john5396 that you are likely confusing the setter with the libero.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 19, 2015, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
In case 2 you got that call wrong.

If the back row setter played the ball above the net and it was an attack, ball that was directed across the net, then it was a back row attack.

The case you are thinking of is a limit on the libero. If the libero sets a ball with finger action while in the attack zone, and then a front row payer attacks the ball above the net you have a back row attack. This does not apply for other back row players. So a back row setter may set the ball above the height of the net as long as it is not directed across the net or into a legal blocker (above the net and played by the other team).
When the libero hand sets on or in front of the attack line and the ball is attacked completely above the height of the net by any teamate it is a an illegal attack.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 21, 2015, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 765
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
When the libero hand sets on or in front of the attack line and the ball is attacked completely above the height of the net by any teamate it is a an illegal attack.
...only if the attack is completed.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couple "Carryover" situations whitehat Football 3 Sat Sep 25, 2010 09:02pm
A Couple of Situations KHanneman Baseball 8 Tue Jun 16, 2009 07:59pm
Couple of play situations bigwes68 Baseball 5 Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:29am
To check or not to check with your partner DaveASA/FED Volleyball 3 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm
A couple situations... rmiszta Softball 23 Sat Mar 29, 2003 09:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1