![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The other question posed earlier about when it ends if the defender fails to catch it I haven't heard officially, BUT my personal interpretation would be somewhat similar to what it was previously, that if the initial block is legal, then it would require a second and separate act that hinders the runner if the ball is uncaught. Also, similar to the "step and a reach" philosophy, the defender should still be protected from obstruction if the ball is still right there and her efforts are to control the ball, and not specifically to hold the runner there until she can retrieve it.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
"the defender should still be protected from obstruction if the ball is still right there and her efforts are to control the ball, and not specifically to hold the runner there until she can retrieve it."
Steve, wouldn't that imply (the lack of) intent to obstruct, which is not a criteria in determining OBS? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know, it is not as black and white as "in possession" or not; but it is the continuing philosophy of the rules committee (or so I am told) to not penalize legitimate defensive play that they want umpires to recognize. They want the defender to have some "right" to occupy that space in the correct circumstance. It's defining what they want in a manner that is or can be recognized identically by all, that is the problem.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Mon Feb 22, 2016 at 01:18pm. |
|
|||
|
Here's a call of obstruction from Sunday's Mary Nutter Classic on a squeeze play. Nebraska vs. Washington. Doesn't quite fit into the rule change though.
https://mobile.twitter.com/FloSoftba...090049/video/1 |
|
|||
|
Why do you say that? She was not in possession of the ball or in the act to receive ball. She is just blocking the plate, and made a second effort to make sure she was blocking the plate. How can this not be obstruction?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the ball was thrown, then it would be within the realm of the rule change and still obstruction. |
|
|||
|
If the rule says "act of catching", I would not say "act of receiving"; sounds too much like "about to receive".
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| "Pinch the Paint" or "Stay Wide"? | Freddy | Basketball | 10 | Tue Apr 30, 2013 09:19am |
| NHSF "intentional" vs NCAA "flagarent" terminology | Duffman | Basketball | 17 | Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:15pm |
| Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? | fiasco | Basketball | 46 | Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am |
| NCAA back court rule - meaning of "caused the ball" | bearclause | Basketball | 3 | Fri Feb 06, 2009 04:47pm |
| ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |