The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
If we're being pedantic about someone else's terminology... R2 is a runner... not a batter-runner.
I wasn't being pedantic; anal maybe! Proper terminology for the sport is appreciated and leads to less confusion. And, I didn't say R2 was a batter-runner, I said she was the last batter-runner.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,662
My look back rule story.....

I am BU. R1 on second, wild pitch, R1 advances to and rounds third.
Ball retrieved and returned to pitcher in the circle who looks at R1 off of third base. Pitcher raises her arm and starts pump faking as if she is going to throw. R1 is dancing back and forth. No throw is made and R1 returns to third.

Defensive coach starts yelling from the third base dugout...She (R1) can't do that! She is out! You have to call her out! Since I am close to the dugout, I respond by saying that the pitcher is attempting a play and that turns the rule off.

Coach says back to me that it doesn't matter..if the pitcher is in the circle she can do anything she wants and the runner can't dance back and forth. I just shake my head and we play on....

A few pitches later, I notice coach get up and walk to the end of the dugout and start digging in a backpack...and pulls out a rule book!

I say loudly toward the dugout......"It's in rule 8 if you want to look it up!"

Yes...I know that I probably handled this inappropriately, but I just couldn't stop myself....

Next half inning break, I am getting a drink near the first base side and coach comes over toward me....."So when did that rule change, was it last year?"

Uhhhh...no, coach.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 10:47am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I say loudly toward the dugout......"It's in rule 8 if you want to look it up!"

Yes...I know that I probably handled this inappropriately, but I just couldn't stop myself....
Funny. And yeah - probably a bit inappropriate. I find that any time the umpire is shouting across the diamond, they have lost a little control of their composure and of the situation.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Funny. And yeah - probably a bit inappropriate. I find that any time the umpire is shouting across the diamond, they have lost a little control of their composure and of the situation.
Yeah, but I'm sure it felt good!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by azbigdawg View Post
Sorry..I cannot buy this..You said "NSA"..."Indiana"..and "well trained" in the same sentence......
I assume you type in jest. Either way and regardless of your opinion, as a whole group, Indiana NSA umpires are quite good.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2015, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
NSA actually doesn't say whether this is a live ball or dead ball. It's silent on the subject (Rule 8-8-x). Elsewhere in the book it says that when things aren't specified in the NSA book, go by NFHS rules. LBR is a dead ball in every other rule set.
True, it does not say either way.
What it does say is:
"... will result in the runner being declared out." (As you stated - Rule 8-8-x)
That leaves no reason for the umpire to declare a dead ball as well as the out.
In fact the LBR is NOT mentioned in Rule 9 Section 1 which is "The ball is dead and not in play:"
Again, no justification to rule dead ball.

And for the edification of anyone reading your post as education; NO, In NSA there is NO default to NFHS (or any other) rules.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2015, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I assume you type in jest. Either way and regardless of your opinion, as a whole group, Indiana NSA umpires are quite good.
mmmk
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2015, 09:35am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
And for the edification of anyone reading your post as education; NO, In NSA there is NO default to NFHS (or any other) rules.
I stand corrected. I thought that was the case before checking your book, and then misread the "Note: Any softball rules not covered or found in this section will be covered or found in Part I of the official NSA Rulebook" to say NFHS.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2015, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
And for the edification of anyone reading your post as education; NO, In NSA there is NO default to NFHS (or any other) rules.
Good, one book at a time is bad enough.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2015, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
True, it does not say either way.
What it does say is:
"... will result in the runner being declared out." (As you stated - Rule 8-8-x)
That leaves no reason for the umpire to declare a dead ball as well as the out.
In fact the LBR is NOT mentioned in Rule 9 Section 1 which is "The ball is dead and not in play:"
Again, no justification to rule dead ball.
The NSA Case Book (which is on-line, if anyone wants to check it out) has several case plays where the Look Back Rule is violated and states that the ball is DEAD.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 28, 2015, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
The NSA Case Book (which is on-line, if anyone wants to check it out) has several case plays where the Look Back Rule is violated and states that the ball is DEAD.
To not kill the ball is just asking for trouble. If you do not kill the ball, other runners may attempt to advance and also be in violation of the LBR, but you will most likely be having a discussion with the OC.

The umpire needs to kill the play to control the game
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 coach team gets disqualified. What is the rule about continuing with no Coach? Carlos2283 Basketball 15 Tue Jan 13, 2015 09:55am
Coach wants TO back tref Basketball 2 Sat Dec 04, 2010 01:57pm
New View vs Standard View in Masks alex7 Baseball 5 Thu Nov 12, 2009 06:56pm
New View on Coach's Ref Daddy Basketball 5 Thu Jan 08, 2004 01:42pm
Defensive Coach Yelling Back Mike M Baseball 3 Thu Aug 01, 2002 05:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1