The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
How do you find a distinction here? Once she stops on a base, the two rules combine to mean she cannot lose contact while the ball is live and the ball is in the circle until the pitch leaves the pitcher's hand.
@youngump, you're looking for a distinction that doesn't really exist to justify not wanting to appear nitpicky.

You can certainly read it that way. It's not more natural then reading it the way I suggest, it's just the way you are used to.
Consider a couple of points. First, in your reading, the lookback rule makes it completely unnecessary to have a rule that says you have to maintain contact until the pitch. (Since in your case the runner would always be out under the lookback rule.) Second, the rule requiring the runner to maintain contact is clearly meant as a restriction during the pitch. It says until the ball leaves the pitchers hand. In some sanctions, the pitcher can put the ball between her legs to fix her hair and still have control, and in all sanctions she has control when it's in her glove. Further, the look back rule is off when the pitcher fakes a play. You certainly couldn't get that result from the pitching rule. (The lookback rule is off, so she can leave the base, but she has to maintain contact unless the pitcher throws the ball?)
If you want to read leave and maintain contact as the same thing, I have less problem with that but it seems evident that 8-6-18 and 8-7 do not apply to the same time period. (Though the last part of the exception in the ASA rule to the lookback rule applies to a pitch being released, which cuts against what I'm saying.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
There are more common sense ways of dealing with the "it's too nitpicky to call outs" in some of these situations, without attempting to state it isn't the rule, or you don't judge it violates the intent of the rule. Shifting feet on the base; sorry, coach, I didn't see that happen, I was watching the pitcher, and the ball status, and ......, and I will be more vigilant in watching all runners (including yours should not be verbalized). Standing next to the base without touching it without anything happening, or a runner wanting to clear cleat or slide tracks; coach, I granted time, I just didn't make it a huge presentation that would make me the center of attention. You mention to base coaches that it IS a violation if you see it and the ball is live, and that you would hate to have to make that call, BUT I will if your runners can't maintain contact with the base.
Is this an invitation to lie to the coach? Or are you saying, work very hard not to see it so you can tell the coach you didn't?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
You can certainly read it that way. It's not more natural then reading it the way I suggest, it's just the way you are used to.
Consider a couple of points. First, in your reading, the lookback rule makes it completely unnecessary to have a rule that says you have to maintain contact until the pitch. (Since in your case the runner would always be out under the lookback rule.) Second, the rule requiring the runner to maintain contact is clearly meant as a restriction during the pitch. It says until the ball leaves the pitchers hand. In some sanctions, the pitcher can put the ball between her legs to fix her hair and still have control, and in all sanctions she has control when it's in her glove. Further, the look back rule is off when the pitcher fakes a play. You certainly couldn't get that result from the pitching rule. (The lookback rule is off, so she can leave the base, but she has to maintain contact unless the pitcher throws the ball?)
If you want to read leave and maintain contact as the same thing, I have less problem with that but it seems evident that 8-6-18 and 8-7 do not apply to the same time period. (Though the last part of the exception in the ASA rule to the lookback rule applies to a pitch being released, which cuts against what I'm saying.)



Is this an invitation to lie to the coach? Or are you saying, work very hard not to see it so you can tell the coach you didn't?
I agree with you, Steve
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I agree with you, Steve
Yes, I know everyone disagrees with me over what is almost an entirely academic point. We've been down this road before.

My question to Steve was meant seriously though: Is this an invitation to lie to the coach? Or are you saying, work very hard not to see it so you can tell the coach you didn't?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I will work very hard to see everything that needs to be seen; and not so hard to not see what doesn't need to be seen (wait, is that enough negatives in the same sentence fragment??). It's about game management; those that handle that aspect get in way less "situations" than those that do not. Some umpires are less preferred partner because they are $hit-magnets, seeing what needs to be missed, missing what needs to be seen, then overanalyzing the (now) necessary conversations with coaches.

Actually, as an aside, it is one of my pet peeves when an umpire draws unnecessary and a ridiculous amount of attention to himself to announce "TIME" when nothing is happening. I particularly like it when announcing "TIME" during an already dead ball (like after a hit batter, ball out of play, or even a foul ball). Personally, if a coach (or my catcher) requests time then, I simply acknowledge the request, not announce it.

If it's a dead ball, and you announce "TIME" (making it double time), do you have to point twice and state "play" twice to fully make it live again?? Always wondered about that.

More serious note. When a runner "tags" on fly ball, but isn't actually in contact with the base when (or after) the ball is caught, would you (asking youngump, but applies to all) similarly (and consistently) deny an appeal because she didn't "leave" the base. If being at the base but not in contact is not leaving it, would you deny a pickoff tag (okay, that rule says in contact, but my point is where are you drawing the line??)?
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Tue Apr 14, 2015 at 06:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I will work very hard to see everything that needs to be seen; and not so hard to not see what doesn't need to be seen (wait, is that enough negatives in the same sentence fragment??). It's about game management; those that handle that aspect get in way less "situations" than those that do not. Some umpires are less preferred partner because they are $hit-magnets, seeing what needs to be missed, missing what needs to be seen, then overanalyzing the (now) necessary conversations with coaches.

Actually, as an aside, it is one of my pet peeves when an umpire draws unnecessary and a ridiculous amount of attention to himself to announce "TIME" when nothing is happening. I particularly like it when announcing "TIME" during an already dead ball (like after a hit batter, ball out of play, or even a foul ball). Personally, if a coach (or my catcher) requests time then, I simply acknowledge the request, not announce it.

If it's a dead ball, and you announce "TIME" (making it double time), do you have to point twice and state "play" twice to fully make it live again?? Always wondered about that.

More serious note. When a runner "tags" on fly ball, but isn't actually in contact with the base when (or after) the ball is caught, would you (asking youngump, but applies to all) similarly (and consistently) deny an appeal because she didn't "leave" the base. If being at the base but not in contact is not leaving it, would you deny a pickoff tag (okay, that rule says in contact, but my point is where are you drawing the line??)?
I think the red part is where I have my opinion on the situation I posted in the original post. Yes, under the technical definition of the wording, the runner should have been called out, but I think umpires make their money in the area between the written word and the practical application of the rule. One thing that does need to be considered is the level of play IMHO. If this was a Varsity game, I could see making this call, even though I have seen the exact same thing NOT CALLED (today at a Varsity Game I was watching) in a Varsity level game. I think the original play was a situation where the umpire was looking to call something, rather than observing and reacting to what happens.

In USA Swimming we have a saying about officiating. We are not there to catch swimmers doing something wrong, we are to observe the swims and make sure they comply with the rules. There is a difference, when you are trying to catch someone you are specifically looking for something to happen. When you are observing, you are watching everything and reacting to what needs to be reacted to.

Back to the plays for a second. The bigger problem I had with the entire mess, was the next half inning the runner was very clearly not in contact with the base while the pitcher was in the circle starting her pitch, and the out was not called. It was a much more blatant violation of the rule than what he called at 3rd base on the opposing team. It was so blatant that I felt I had to make the call from behind the plate (and so obvious as well). He also had as good if not a better view on the one I had to call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2015, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I will work very hard to see everything that needs to be seen; and not so hard to not see what doesn't need to be seen (wait, is that enough negatives in the same sentence fragment??). It's about game management; those that handle that aspect get in way less "situations" than those that do not. Some umpires are less preferred partner because they are $hit-magnets, seeing what needs to be missed, missing what needs to be seen, then overanalyzing the (now) necessary conversations with coaches.

Actually, as an aside, it is one of my pet peeves when an umpire draws unnecessary and a ridiculous amount of attention to himself to announce "TIME" when nothing is happening. I particularly like it when announcing "TIME" during an already dead ball (like after a hit batter, ball out of play, or even a foul ball). Personally, if a coach (or my catcher) requests time then, I simply acknowledge the request, not announce it.

If it's a dead ball, and you announce "TIME" (making it double time), do you have to point twice and state "play" twice to fully make it live again?? Always wondered about that.

More serious note. When a runner "tags" on fly ball, but isn't actually in contact with the base when (or after) the ball is caught, would you (asking youngump, but applies to all) similarly (and consistently) deny an appeal because she didn't "leave" the base. If being at the base but not in contact is not leaving it, would you deny a pickoff tag (okay, that rule says in contact, but my point is where are you drawing the line??)?
In response to your question at the bottom of the post. There is a huge difference between the OP and discussion about leaving the base or not and the tag up on a fly ball. In the OP there was a very momentary loss of contact with the base (from what I understand, less than one second). On a tag play you are not likely to see this same momentary loss of contact with the base, but will instead either see contact with, or no contact with the base. The only way I can see this being an issue is if the runner, while attempting to return to tag, steps to the side of the base and doesn't actually touch the base. At that point, it is a tough call from one standpoint. Am I 100% sure she did not touch with the tip of her shoe? Again, to me this better be real obvious she was never in contact with the base after the first touch of a batter ball which has not struck the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Play 3: Runner at third, 2 outs. The runner jumps up and switches feet touching the base in such a manner that momentarily there is no contact with the base by either foot. (Pitcher has the ball in the circle) She has never moved forward towards home plate. Player 40 is the batter in the box when this happens (this is important in play 5). What's the call?


I have nothing on this play. The runner did not leave the base early, she just lost contact momentarily above the base.


Play 5: From play 3, #40 was at bat when the inning ended at 3rd base. Batter #18 comes up to bat and the count is 1-1 when the offensive coach calls for time and says she is switching batters to #40 who should be the batter because she was up when the call was made (play #3). What should happen?

I know have the correct batter, #40, up with a 1-1 count. Despite what the defensive coach said, I have no out on this play because no play had occurred.


There were all plays from tonight's JV DH. Play 1 was when I was on the bases, plays 2-5 were with me on the plate.

Play 5 will be batting out of order when #40 completes the at bat.
You state that in Play 3 you "have nothing."
Therefore we assumt that #40 made the last out of the inning.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Play 5 will be batting out of order when #40 completes the at bat.
You state that in Play 3 you "have nothing."
Therefore we assumt that #40 made the last out of the inning.
I guess I assumed the OP's partner called an out in Play 3 to end the inning.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Play 3: Runner at third, 2 outs. The runner jumps up and switches feet touching the base in such a manner that momentarily there is no contact with the base by either foot. (Pitcher has the ball in the circle) She has never moved forward towards home plate. Player 40 is the batter in the box when this happens (this is important in play 5). What's the call?


I have nothing on this play. The runner did not leave the base early, she just lost contact momentarily above the base.


Play 5: From play 3, #40 was at bat when the inning ended at 3rd base. Batter #18 comes up to bat and the count is 1-1 when the offensive coach calls for time and says she is switching batters to #40 who should be the batter because she was up when the call was made (play #3). What should happen?

I know have the correct batter, #40, up with a 1-1 count. Despite what the defensive coach said, I have no out on this play because no play had occurred.


There were all plays from tonight's JV DH. Play 1 was when I was on the bases, plays 2-5 were with me on the plate.

Play 5 will be batting out of order when #40 completes the at bat.
You state that in Play 3 you "have nothing."
Therefore we assumt that #40 made the last out of the inning.
Actually my partner did make the call for losing contact with the base (as he said she left early by jumping up and switching feet-his words when discussing it with the coach.). 40 was at bat when this call was made, so she should have been the batter to start the next inning.

Basically this game was a total CF both from a field and umpiring standpoint. I know I missed a call and I was bailed out by my partner on another. I still think he missed several as well. Add to that a field that is not in good shape and is uneven to the point of really sore ankles postgame. The visitor dugout was basically a lake, but it didn't extend into fair territory.

Basically it was a CF all the way around. The one saving grace is one team had a very solid pitcher, which made things go a bit faster, at least balls were put in play (the pitcher was the runner called out in play 3).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
More serious note. When a runner "tags" on fly ball, but isn't actually in contact with the base when (or after) the ball is caught, would you (asking youngump, but applies to all) similarly (and consistently) deny an appeal because she didn't "leave" the base. If being at the base but not in contact is not leaving it, would you deny a pickoff tag (okay, that rule says in contact, but my point is where are you drawing the line??)?
I can't actually imagine a situation where a runner would not be in contact with the bag long enough to matter and I wouldn't determine it to be leaving the base. A runner tagged while not in contact with a base is out, so we're talking about the specific case where a runner is standing next to the base and they appeal by touching the bag. Any runner who has been off long enough for that to matter has left the base.

It's my judgment as to what leave a base means and standing on one leg or straddling a base for a while is leaving it. Shifting the feet in a way that temporarily breaks contact is not.

If I see a runner shift her feet in a way that breaks contact and the coach comes out and says did you see her off the base, I can truthfully say "coach I didn't see her leave the base; but I'll be sure and watch all the runners more carefully." If you inadvertenly happen to see a runner shift her feet in a way that momentarily breaks contact with the base and the coach comes out and says did you see that, what do you say?

I still maintain this is an entirely academic conversation as unless I'm missing something you're telling me, we're both going to do the same thing on the field, we're just going to have different approaches to getting there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make the Call #2` Bagman62 Softball 12 Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:04am
You make the call! garobe Softball 2 Tue Apr 06, 2004 03:13pm
You make the call 2... w_sohl Basketball 10 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 6 Thu Jan 24, 2002 07:08pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2002 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1