The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 03:34pm
Ump1867
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: RI
Posts: 2
Umpire hit by fair, batted ball

Rule set" NFHS.

Scenario. 2-umpire crew. Runner on 3rd. F3 and F5 are "in", playing bunt protection. Base umpire is 20 feet from 3rd, 10 feet deep. Line drive strikes the base umpire on the fly and pops up. F6 catches the deflected ball on the fly.

NFHS 5-1-1f is not applicable since F5 is in front of the base umpire. Does the "caught" ball result in an out? A meeting of 12 experienced NFHS umpires split down the middle that:
* the ball is live and a catch is an out
* the ball is live but is now a ground ball

We are looking for a clear opinion with NFHS citations. We would also welcome NCAA, USSSA, and other parallel citations.

Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
umpire hit by batted ball deflected by the pitcher jwwashburn Baseball 20 Mon May 13, 2013 09:22am
loose equipment and ricochet fair batted ball ronald Softball 9 Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:30am
Batted Ball Hits Umpire Welpe Baseball 3 Mon Jun 04, 2007 06:55am
FED Rules- Runner hit by fair batted ball??? ctblu40 Baseball 12 Sat Mar 25, 2006 10:35am
Batted ball hits umpire WestMichBlue Softball 6 Sun Feb 13, 2005 04:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1