![]() |
Umpire hit by fair, batted ball
Rule set" NFHS.
Scenario. 2-umpire crew. Runner on 3rd. F3 and F5 are "in", playing bunt protection. Base umpire is 20 feet from 3rd, 10 feet deep. Line drive strikes the base umpire on the fly and pops up. F6 catches the deflected ball on the fly. NFHS 5-1-1f is not applicable since F5 is in front of the base umpire. Does the "caught" ball result in an out? A meeting of 12 experienced NFHS umpires split down the middle that: * the ball is live and a catch is an out * the ball is live but is now a ground ball We are looking for a clear opinion with NFHS citations. We would also welcome NCAA, USSSA, and other parallel citations. Your thoughts? |
If the line drive hit the umpire on the fly, I hope he was wearing a cup.
Just stating the obvious. |
Don't have a rule citation off the top of my head but except in the few instances where an umpire can interfere, they are otherwise just part of the field. The ball would be considered to have hit the ground and it would not be an out.
|
The half-dozen guys that think this is a catch for an out need to take a look at 2-9-5(e). While they're at it, it might not hurt to check out 2-28.
There's even a case play that spells this out. See 2.9.5 Situation A. With respect to the ball touching the umpire, this same ruling would apply to any softball or baseball rule set. |
Thanks. Validation is sweet! I used electronic scanning to find every reference to "umpire" in the book and didn't catch that citation.
|
We are dirt. Hitting us in flight is the same as hitting the ground.
|
By rule, if the ball strikes ANYTHING other than a DEFENSIVE player, the ball is considered to have contacted the ground; thus, no catch.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18pm. |