View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 03:34pm
Ump1867 Ump1867 is offline
Ump1867
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: RI
Posts: 2
Umpire hit by fair, batted ball

Rule set" NFHS.

Scenario. 2-umpire crew. Runner on 3rd. F3 and F5 are "in", playing bunt protection. Base umpire is 20 feet from 3rd, 10 feet deep. Line drive strikes the base umpire on the fly and pops up. F6 catches the deflected ball on the fly.

NFHS 5-1-1f is not applicable since F5 is in front of the base umpire. Does the "caught" ball result in an out? A meeting of 12 experienced NFHS umpires split down the middle that:
* the ball is live and a catch is an out
* the ball is live but is now a ground ball

We are looking for a clear opinion with NFHS citations. We would also welcome NCAA, USSSA, and other parallel citations.

Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote