The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2003, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
My problem with the original posting is that R2 continues strolling slowly after the pitcher is ready to pitch. If she were trying to draw a throw, she has obviously failed. Not getting into position as the PU would work for a moment, but if the pitcher has committed NOT to throw, and the runner wants to move at a snail's pace, what then? Seems to me the rule is not being enforced if I do nothing but allow this foolishness. I have only seen anything similar to this in 9/10 softball when I have had two unevenly matched teams, and the more dominant team continues to run bases non-stop after the pitcher has the ball in circle simply because the pitcher doesn't have a clue as to what to do. Even then, the runners are RUNNING, not strolling slowly. True, base runners are allowed to play the game, and umpires are allowed to enforce the rules of the game.
Also, as I interpret POE #33 in ASA, under section B, a runner strolling slowly is not immediately proceeding, are they? Can you honestly say that strolling slowly and immediately proceeding are one and the same?

[Edited by pollywolly60 on Sep 2nd, 2003 at 10:16 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1