The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2014, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
I feel once the PU calls batter out he is saying the pitch was NOT in the dirt, so it's over at that point. Just like a ref. can't undo a play killed once he blows the whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck chopper View Post
I feel once the PU calls batter out he is saying the pitch was NOT in the dirt, so it's over at that point. Just like a ref. can't undo a play killed once he blows the whistle.
You might be missing the point. It was obviously uncaught. The mistake was calling the batter out when not.
Are you saying the mistaken "out" call can't be ignored?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck chopper View Post
I feel once the PU calls batter out he is saying the pitch was NOT in the dirt, so it's over at that point. Just like a ref. can't undo a play killed once he blows the whistle.
But it isn't. The ball remains live, and a misapplied rule can (and should) be corrected.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
But it isn't. The ball remains live, and a misapplied rule can (and should) be corrected.
So, you say yes to my OP question.

Your original response included "My opinion, catcher needs to know the situation", which made me think you were saying no. That is, ignore the mistake and let the BR be safe.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
So, you say yes to my OP question.

Your original response included "My opinion, catcher needs to know the situation", which made me think you were saying no. That is, ignore the mistake and let the BR be safe.
Yes, that's what he said.

You're confused because the misapplied rule here was the PU ruling the batter out. He is still saying the same thing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Yes, that's what he said.

You're confused because the misapplied rule here was the PU ruling the batter out. He is still saying the same thing.
Oh yeah, I see.

My original question was whether this mistake by the PU should be rectified. IOW whether it qualifies under the jeopardy rule.

That would mean, IF he could judge that IF the catcher had not been told an out, would she have tried a play at 1st and PROBABLY gotten the out.

Notice - BIG IFs and a BIG reach by the ump to ASSUME an out if played at 1st are a separate question.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2014, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 70
Players and coaches should know the situation. Umpire has egg on his face and must suck it up.
Agree, better not to verbalize unless batter runs to first when she isn't supposed to.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2014, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Not to drive this into the ground...
The only time I've ever heard "Strike 3 batters out" has been on television show/commercial/movie umpires.

Is it possible that the order of events was:
U3K, batter runs, PU says, "batter out", F2 rolls ball? Then we have the PU giving bad game situation info, putting defense in jeopardy. And we can better debate whether it can be rectified.

If the order of events in the OP is precise, then yes, bad mechanics, you shouldn't say that, AND bad game situation info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter runner in jeopardy? jmkupka Softball 17 Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:43am
Jeopardy to whom? noobie Softball 1 Wed Jun 07, 2006 09:11am
Define Jeopardy tcannizzo Softball 7 Wed May 03, 2006 10:59am
In jeopardy after touching home? Dakota Softball 14 Thu Nov 10, 2005 05:30pm
Double Jeopardy?? Buckley11 Basketball 6 Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1