The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
Team A shoots the ball. Team B intentionally grabs the net A)while the ball is on the ring B)snaps the ring while ball is in cylinder and then ring contacts ball when it returns to its position. Is this both BI and a Technical foul?

I know in back board slapping situations we would only have a T. What about intentional ring and net grasping when NOT trying to avoid injury?

Thanks in advance for your responses.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 764
Basket Interference. Does not matter whether intentional or not.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,091
Quote:
Originally posted by Buckley11
Team A shoots the ball. Team B intentionally grabs the net A)while the ball is on the ring B)snaps the ring while ball is in cylinder and then ring contacts ball when it returns to its position. Is this both BI and a Technical foul?

I know in back board slapping situations we would only have a T. What about intentional ring and net grasping when NOT trying to avoid injury?

Thanks in advance for your responses.
Both BI and the T
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 12:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Basket Interference. Does not matter whether intentional or not.

Mregor
Nope!

Two separate acts with two separate penalties. You penalize both the BI and the intentional grasping. Award 2 points to Team A, and charge B1 with a technical foul. Casebook play 9.11.1SitB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 764
I stand corrected, what JR said.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
The original post does not indicates the player grasped the ring. If the player did then it certainly is a T.
I don't think it is a T if the player only grabbed the net, pulled hard enough to snap the ring. Just BI.

Oops, I see the detail at the bottom of the post that mentions intentional ring grasping.

__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIAm
The original post does not indicates the player grasped the ring. If the player did then it certainly is a T.
I don't think it is a T if the player only grabbed the net, pulled hard enough to snap the ring. Just BI.

Rule 10-3-4 says it's a T if a player grasps either basket. Rule 1-10-1 defines the basket as consisting of the ring, it's flange and braces, and the net. It's a T if you grab any part of the basket deliberately, including just the net.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1