![]() |
|
|
|||
what happened here?
A video from the baseball board.
Watch play 5. NCAA game, 3 umpire crew, R1 on first. What happened with the umpires coverage? I see U3 chase the fly ball, PU halfway to third to pick up the lead runner, then U1 makes the call at the plate. Was this just a completely blown rotation/coverage?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
What do you think is wrong with that rotation? It's textbook.
The only thing ACTUALLY wrong is PU is slightly in the runner's path.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Maybe, just guessing here, PU went to 3B, then ready to go back home because he reverted to 2 man mechanics with U3 chasing. U1, meanwhile, rotated because he saw PU go to 3B and thought he had to cover home.
While you're at it, and I know it's a baseball play, but what do you have in the last play in the video (D3K) using softball rulesets? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with RKB.....I got nothin'. Evidently, in some baseball rulesets, this could be ruled as interference.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
ONLY in the wonderful world of FED. All others require a "quality throw" before you can call interference.
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Unfortunately it was a botched rotation. It was a botched rotation in 2012 (date on the video) too as the Manual had coverage on that play then, the same as it is now. PU got himself behind the 8 ball from the start of the play by not first moving to the holding area in front of the circle. That movement would have kept him out of the R1's way when she rounded third. I agree with SethPDX's assessment as to why U1 rotated home. Good job on his part in covering the hole in the rotation. We've all been part of, or responsible for, a botched 3 man rotation at one time or another. We kick ourselves (both individually or a crew) after the game and try to learn from it. I'm sure it was no different for this crew. As a side topic.... Realizing that U1 had his hands full getting his tail down to home to make the call......does anyone have OBS on F2 at 0:39? Last edited by KJUmp; Tue Aug 19, 2014 at 08:30pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
At 0:20 batter has made contact with the pitch. At 0:22 U3 has pivoted w/back to infield and chasing into OF toward centerfield, then peels of to his right when he sees there's no catch. U3 and U1 (in covering for PU) did their job. I'll say again, this rotation getting off the rails was the fault of the PU. PU didn't read U3's chase and moved straight down the 3rd base line rather than initially moving to the holding area in front of the circle; and judging by what we see in the video, my guess is that he failed to communicate to U1 that the crew was now in two-man coverage. Last edited by KJUmp; Wed Aug 20, 2014 at 03:34pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In further review, R1 may have been stealing or very fast, as she is past 2b when the ball hits the wall (hit and run maybe?). U1 may have been working down for the steal and that's why he didn't read. That's not to say that PU could have used a better two umpire holding zone -deeper into foul territory and closer to the plate while (properly) reading the play (R1 was not slowing down). With the NCAA's option to chase or not chase, all umpires have two reads: 1 - the ball (in who's area) and 2 - did my partner chase: "Read the ball, read your partner." It seems that U1 did not do this properly. And doesn't seem to be any communication. |
|
|||
Maybe. If he's going out, he takes an odd angle for it, and not many steps. I see him at 22 seconds, but he's not running anywhere that helps him with either distance or angle - and still at 22 the ball has already hit the wall. Seems kind of halfway to me, still, even after your explanation.
I agree that PU doesn't do himself any favors here, but perhaps he didn't read this as going out for the same reason I didn't. that ball gets to the wall AWFULLY quickly, and never looks like a trouble ball to me - so I have to think PU was not expecting U3 to go out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Never happened to me before | stripes | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 17, 2007 05:14pm |
well it happened, well almost happened | cmathews | Basketball | 7 | Mon Jan 29, 2007 04:17pm |
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? | UmpJM | Baseball | 7 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm |
This really happened - not! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 20 | Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:28pm |
Not really sure what happened........ | wadeintothem | Softball | 8 | Wed Mar 16, 2005 02:47pm |