The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2014, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
Steve, I had read the definition from my 2012 ASA book "F"- touches the batter while the batter is within the box. Since the batter had not placed a foot on the ground outside the box I was wondering if by definition she was still in the box. If you guys say she can be out of the box without contacting the ground yet ?- Okay..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2014, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck chopper View Post
Steve, I had read the definition from my 2012 ASA book "F"- touches the batter while the batter is within the box. Since the batter had not placed a foot on the ground outside the box I was wondering if by definition she was still in the box. If you guys say she can be out of the box without contacting the ground yet ?- Okay..
Chuck,

I believe the second set of rules Steve noted is to protect the batter from a ball off the bat that is basically direct from the bat and relatively unavoidable.

In the OP, the runner caused the contact with a fair batted ball.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2014, 08:26am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck chopper View Post
Steve, I had read the definition from my 2012 ASA book "F"- touches the batter while the batter is within the box. Since the batter had not placed a foot on the ground outside the box I was wondering if by definition she was still in the box. If you guys say she can be out of the box without contacting the ground yet ?- Okay..
When it comes to batting the ball illegally, a batter whose foot is out of the batter's box but still in the air is not in violation. But this has nothing to do with the batter being in fair or foul territory. That rule penalizes the batter for batting a ball with her foot completely out of the box and on the ground. It doesn't say anything about the foot being in fair or foul territory.

So be careful comparing the status of the batter and her foot under that rule, and her status under other rules. In ASA 8-2-F-4, the batter's box isn't even mentioned. It just says a batter-runner is out when she contacts a fair ball. Heck, the ball could still be in the box but fair, and if the runner kicks it, steps on it, picks it up, etc., she would be out.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much time is considered reasonable? chapmaja Softball 2 Tue May 14, 2013 12:36pm
What does it take to be considered a top notch official mightyvol Basketball 26 Fri Mar 09, 2007 08:27am
Is this considered a travel? Ray_from_Mi Basketball 4 Sat Dec 16, 2006 09:04pm
What would be considered a dead ball? PJUMP Baseball 5 Fri Mar 17, 2006 07:17pm
Is it considered a dribble if ... ? bossref Basketball 1 Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1