The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Based on the wording of the OP, I would be awarding home? Why? If she was out on a bang bang play, she likely would have scored had she not be obstructed prior to 3b.
.
I guess my point is, she'd have been safe without the OBS, and are the intervening plays technicalities per the rulebook that remove her protection?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I guess my point is, she'd have been safe without the OBS, and are the intervening plays technicalities per the rulebook that remove her protection?
Your OP does not make the timing of events clear, but I infer from "F3 fires home" that this occurred when R2 was nearly home already. In that case, the effect of the obstruction is in the past, and this is a subsequent play. With the ball in the infield during the entire playing action, protection of more than one base is not happening in most cases.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I guess my point is, she'd have been safe without the OBS, and are the intervening plays technicalities per the rulebook that remove her protection?
If you are awarding a particular base due to obstruction and they don't get to that base, award the base.

Re-read the section that deals with intervening plays - that VERY rarely comes into play in real action - and only applies in situations where the runner has reached the award base and THEN an intervening play happens. So ... it can only really negate the "between the bases where she was obstructed" part and then only if the awarded base was going to be the previous base.

IE - obstructed rounding 2nd, but never going to make 3rd - award is 2nd, protection is between 2nd and 3rd. Then there's an intervening play and she heads to 3rd - the "between 2nd and 3rd" part of her protection goes away.

In your OP, at the moment of the obstruction near third and the ball already in the infield ... no sane umpire is awarding home. The runner is awarded 3rd, and protected between 2nd and 3rd (redundant in this case)... the play home, whether intervening or not, is simply a play on a runner who is beyond their award and outside their protection.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 10, 2014, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I

IE - obstructed rounding 2nd, but never going to make 3rd - award is 2nd, protection is between 2nd and 3rd. Then there's an intervening play and she heads to 3rd - the "between 2nd and 3rd" part of her protection goes away.
Just one thing to add to this, that if OBS between 2nd & 3rd and the award would be 2nd, for the subsequent play exception to take effect, that runner would have to return to 2nd safely and then try to advance to 3rd.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I guess my point is, she'd have been safe without the OBS, and are the intervening plays technicalities per the rulebook that remove her protection?
Or just re-read the response, post #3 in this thread.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Not to add more elements to it, but as she had the head start, 3B coach sent her as soon as he saw the toss to F2. My take is he sent her based on the play at 1st & not on the OBS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2014, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Not to add more elements to it, but as she had the head start, 3B coach sent her as soon as he saw the toss to F2. My take is he sent her based on the play at 1st & not on the OBS.
You're really looking at this in a strange manner.

Erase all the other noise from the play. Ignore trying to read the coach's mind. It's really this simple, and there's only one thing you should be worried about.

At the moment of obstruction, where did you, the umpire, think she would get to had there not been obstruction.

Ball in the infield - runner approaching 3rd. I think it's clear the answer is 3rd.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction by F6 jTheUmp Baseball 8 Thu Apr 24, 2014 09:21am
Obstruction?? UmpJM Baseball 27 Sun Mar 20, 2011 01:02pm
Obstruction? gslefeb Baseball 17 Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:01pm
Obstruction? tjones1 Baseball 13 Sun Jun 14, 2009 05:35pm
Obstruction at FB? Saltydog Baseball 1 Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1