The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2014, 09:55am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
The problem is, double-touch violations almost always happen when the pitcher hasn't started a motion to pitch. They are simply a separation of the hands to do something other than begin the delivery motion, such as adjust the hair, swat at a fly, rub dust out the eyes, adjust the ball in the glove, etc. And after the hands separate and are joined again, the pitcher is still standing there and has made no windup motion.

What you're describing is a second joining of the hands while the pitcher is making her motion to deliver. The closest rule to saying that's illegal is 6-1-4b; certainly 6-1-2a doesn't prohibit the pitcher from rejoining the hands as she's making her pitching motion with the rest of her body.

6-1-4 lists what the pitcher cannot do as she's using any desired windup motion. Nothing there that says she can't bring her hands back together except under "b". One could argue that the premise for this being illegal is the second joining of the hands during the windup, not the swinging of the arms while they're seperated.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2014, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
The problem is, double-touch violations almost always happen when the pitcher hasn't started a motion to pitch. They are simply a separation of the hands to do something other than begin the delivery motion, such as adjust the hair, swat at a fly, rub dust out the eyes, adjust the ball in the glove, etc. And after the hands separate and are joined again, the pitcher is still standing there and has made no windup motion.
Well, whether the pitcher is intentional or not,, by rule the pitch starts when the hands separate the first time. Everything you mentioned can be done PRIOR to stepping on the PP and this is what the coaches need to coach, but I will bet that is rarely stated to the pitcher until it becomes a problem.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question concerning NFHS Rules 3-6-3 and 3-3-8 Tex Softball 6 Tue Apr 23, 2013 05:29pm
NFHS rules question hawktalk Football 3 Fri Jan 11, 2013 09:56am
ASA vs NFHS Pitching Rules rwest Softball 8 Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:30am
Gozer's pitching question (NFHS rules) Dakota Softball 14 Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1