The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by Gozer
NFHS Rules,
Pitcher is on rubber and brings ball and glove up to the heart (mid chest), i believe this is called adressing home plate. Anyway. She drops the hands and goes back to like a bowling swing then brings the hands back up to that "adressing home plate" position and back down and back then around in "windmill" and releases. Does this count as 2 or 3 times around (there is 3 passes of the hip). If so there is an illegal pitch in there then.
I underlined some things I'll talk about first, one trivial, others with more substance.

It's a plate, not a rubber.

There is nothing in the rules about "times past the hip" except (in NFHS) a comment that the ball does not have to be released the first time past the hip.

There is no requirement to address the plate or present the ball or any such thing. The requirement in the general category of pitcher preliminary mechanics is she must take the catcer's signs (or appear to take them) with the hands separated, and then bring the hands together for at least 1 sec and no more than 10 sec, and then begin the windup and pitch the ball.

Are the hand together when she goes back the first time or are they separated?

If separated, it is clearly an illegal pitch (double touch 6-1-4-b)

If together, probably also illegal under NFHS, but it would be a judgment on whether the motion is part of the windup or part of the preliminaries. (In ASA, it is legal if the hands have not separated because separating the hands is ASA's division point between the preliminaries and the pitch.) NFHS states that the pitch starts when the hands are separated or the pitcher makes any motion after bring the hands together that is part of the windup.

If the windup has started, then the motion violates NFHS 6-1-4-c, namely there is a reversal of the forward motion (other than the allowed backswing).

WMB may be along later to provide a better answer.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1