The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 03, 2014, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
OK, had this one today. Coach wasn't happy with my ruling. Was I correct or not? Fed rules.

2 out, none on base. Uncaught 3rd strike on B3. B3 starts walking toward the first base dugout (enterence is about even with 1st base). She never enteres dead ball terriroty. The catcher rolls the ball to the pitching circle as the defense heads towards their dugout. I called the third stirke, and went in line with first base and watched for somthing else to happen (either she entered DBT or the defense makes a play). Finally, B3 realizes the situation and goes to first base. By the time she arrives at first base, the defense has huddled in live ball territory outside the dugout. I call B3 safe, which does not make the coach happy. She starts coming over to argue as B3 starts going from first to second, then on to third base. The DC realizes this and the players run onto the field, grab the ball and almost get B3 at third.

The closest thing I can find to this is the casebook play on page 50 Situation 8-1-1. There are three instances where B3 could be called out on a D3K situation. First, she enters DBT, which did not happen. Second, she does not reach first base by the next pitch (again not applicable). third, the infields have all left the diamond before she B3 reachers third base. This is the one I am questioning. I can not find anywhere in the rulebook a specification for leaving the diamond. Does this mean leaving live ball terrritory (in which case the call was incorrect and she should have been out), or does it mean leaving the dirt area of the diamond.

P.S. Due to several injured umpires, I was working a JV game 1 man today.
Case play mentions the infielders leaving the "diamond". Does NFHS define diamond. If you want to be specific, the "diamond" is made from the baselines. If this were the case, after every third strike, the infielders would just need to step outside the baselines to prevent the BR from advancing

The offense cannot control the defenses actions, so that interpretation (which is NOT supported by the cited rule) is a bit ambiguous.

Now, you noted the DC started to argue. If that did occur to the point she drew your attention, you could have killed the play. However, I would only do that base on the attention you afforded her. If her presence caused you to turn away from the play, you probably should have called time. Yes, I know that you may be depriving the offense of advancement, but you were by yourself and I doubt you have eyes in the back of your head
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dropped third strike question andyump Softball 17 Mon May 23, 2011 05:59pm
Dropped 3rd strike question FTVMartin Baseball 4 Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:16pm
dropped 3rd strike question scroobs Softball 5 Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:38am
Dropped third strike question okmitzi Baseball 14 Sat Jun 03, 2006 12:39pm
Dropped Third Strike Question starman Baseball 16 Fri Aug 05, 2005 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1