The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
For starters, this is NOT obstruction in NCAA.
The heck it isn't. This absolutely is obstruction in any ruleset I've worked, even NCAA. "About to receive" in NCAA is not met (imho).

That said, I agree with the ejection. It was obstruction ... and then it was malicious contact. Not sure why the inning ended though, unless the umpire ruled no obstruction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
I heard in the video the PU call it an out. I think that is why you heard "are you kidding" repeated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The heck it isn't. This absolutely is obstruction in any ruleset I've worked, even NCAA. "About to receive" in NCAA is not met (imho).

That said, I agree with the ejection. It was obstruction ... and then it was malicious contact. Not sure why the inning ended though, unless the umpire ruled no obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
What am I not seeing?
It looks like the catcher made a catch before the collision?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 10:50am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
What am I not seeing?
It looks like the catcher made a catch before the collision?
No she didn't. Immediately after the collision, the ball continues in the same direction. If the catcher had caught it, the ball would have gone a different direction.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
No she didn't. Immediately after the collision, the ball continues in the same direction. If the catcher had caught it, the ball would have gone a different direction.
If the catcher had caught it, how could the ball go in ANY direction?? i.e. other than in her mitt?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 11:09am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
If the catcher had caught it, how could the ball go in ANY direction?? i.e. other than in her mitt?
By becoming dislodged from the collision. It's obvious in the video that the ball was still loose after contact; I was merely pointing out that if the catcher did have the ball in her possession just prior, then it wouldn't continue in the same direction afterward.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
the runner was closer to the play than the ball, the ball passed behind the runner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
No she didn't. Immediately after the collision, the ball continues in the same direction. If the catcher had caught it, the ball would have gone a different direction.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
the runner was closer to the play than the ball, the ball passed behind the runner.
I agree 100%. ATR is not met - this is obstruction. Safe and eject.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 372
I would not question you, and we agree. yay!

but I would not eject. thats me personally.

the reasoning is POT, position, obstruction, tag, and in that order. the catcher never established a position. the other reason is women will tend to raise their arms and hands to protect the breasts. men do so to load up and shove.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I agree 100%. ATR is not met - this is obstruction. Safe and eject.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
If you rule obstruction, you can declare the runner safe at home and then eject under 12.13.1 Effect (which is how I would rule under ASA rules).

However, I'm in the "this is not obstruction in NCAA" camp. Starting as the runner fist comes into view (at :15), I do not see the runner hindered (i.e. changing her path) in the four or five frames within the :15 time period. She continues in the same path until the contact, at which point "about to receive" is in effect (but is obstruction under NFHS and ASA rules). Now, what the runner did prior to her coming into frame could be very helpful in determining obstruction.

As someone already said, this may not be cover specifically under rule:
1 - Catcher has the ball and collision - out and possible ejection (12.13.2)
2 - Obstruction and collision - score run, possible ejection (12.13.1)
3 - No obstruction and collision - ?

I think to #3 above, it would fall under #2, as the 12.13 states: The intent of this rule is to encourage runners and defensive players to avoid such collisions, whenever possible."

Either way, I'm not getting an out, but must likely an ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
The play was judged NOT to be obstruction. Since it was not, the thought process changed to Rule 12.13.......

thoughts on that? thoughts on the hole in the rule? (If you think there is one?)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
However, I'm in the "this is not obstruction in NCAA" camp. Starting as the runner fist comes into view (at :15), I do not see the runner hindered (i.e. changing her path) in the four or five frames within the :15 time period. She continues in the same path until the contact, at which point "about to receive" is in effect (but is obstruction under NFHS and ASA rules).
There is a major flaw here. Maybe two.

The "rule of thumb" for about to receive is that the ball is closer to the fielder than the runner is. Given that contact occurred before the ball got there, About-to-receive NEVER enters the picture.

However, regardless of that - I'm flabbergasted that you don't see the runner hindered or changing her path. THE COLLISION both hindered the runner and changed her path, and did so quite blatantly.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 06, 2014, 10:39am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by azbigdawg View Post
Assume no obstruction call on the play.
Well, if there is no obstruction, then 12.13.1 doesn't apply. If there had been obstruction, then a Safe call on the runner plus the ejection due to a flagrant collision would be the appropriate decision.

12.13.2 also doesn't apply since the catcher did not have possession of the ball and was waiting to make a tag.

If this were a case where the runner is not doing something flagrant, then it would be a no call, as Approved Ruling 12.13.3.2 points out. Since the PU ejected this runner, he judged the collision flagrant.

Frankly, I'm surprised there isn't an NCAA rule that covers a flagrant collision when the fielder is not in possession of the ball, but is also not obstructing. I suppose he could eject the runner just in general for unsporting behavior. But there is nothing supporting the out call.

Bottom line: I'm confused by the out and ejection call. I think the PU screwed the pooch on this one.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whatcha got? #olderthanilook Basketball 9 Tue Dec 03, 2013 06:05pm
Whatcha got? Rooster Basketball 6 Thu Aug 15, 2013 07:58pm
Whatcha got? fiasco Basketball 35 Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:58am
Whatcha think? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 8 Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:57am
Whatcha Got? ranjo Basketball 33 Sat Dec 04, 2004 09:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1