The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
NCAA DP/Flex scenario

A friend and I kicked this around this evening. This scenario was brought up by a coach at my friends game yesterday (it didn't actually happen, but she was asking if it could be done).

Lineup cards are checked and verified. Umpire then asked if any changes are wanted. Coach wants DP to take Flex spot on defense, taking team down to 9. Umpire accepts. An inning later the flex position is substituted for by a different player (not original flex) from the bench, taking team back to 10. Umpire accepts. Still later, coach asks to bring the original flex back in to the 10 spot in the lineup. Umpire accepts.

I think all stated substitutions are legal but the coach(who brought up the question) thinks that the original flex cannot come back in. She feels that when the 1st player subbed into the flex position that it meant that the original flex had been subbed for twice and now was out. I think it was the position that was subbed for and that original flex still had her one re-entry.

As I said we weren't quite sure. I think NCAA 8.2.4.1 and 8.2.5.2 support my position (by the way, that's from the 2012-13 edition). What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Jimmy View Post
A friend and I kicked this around this evening. This scenario was brought up by a coach at my friends game yesterday (it didn't actually happen, but she was asking if it could be done).

Lineup cards are checked and verified. Umpire then asked if any changes are wanted. Coach wants DP to take Flex spot on defense, taking team down to 9. Umpire accepts. An inning later the flex position is substituted for by a different player (not original flex) from the bench, taking team back to 10. Umpire accepts. Still later, coach asks to bring the original flex back in to the 10 spot in the lineup. Umpire accepts.

I think all stated substitutions are legal but the coach(who brought up the question) thinks that the original flex cannot come back in. She feels that when the 1st player subbed into the flex position that it meant that the original flex had been subbed for twice and now was out. I think it was the position that was subbed for and that original flex still had her one re-entry.

As I said we weren't quite sure. I think NCAA 8.2.4.1 and 8.2.5.2 support my position (by the way, that's from the 2012-13 edition). What say you?
No, substitution rules apply to the player, not the position. There was no substitution at the beginning of the game, just the DP going on defense and the Flex simply left the game.


I think NCAA really overkills the DP/FLEX rule in the book. Also believe they do a disservice to everyone by using the term "substitute" in the rule when the player referenced does not meet the definition of a substitute.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No, substitution rules apply to the player, not the position. There was no substitution at the beginning of the game, just the DP going on defense and the Flex simply left the game.

I think NCAA really overkills the DP/FLEX rule in the book. Also believe they do a disservice to everyone by using the term "substitute" in the rule when the player referenced does not meet the definition of a substitute.
By rule, that is a substitution in NCAA. (8.2.4.1)
But yes, the lineup changes as described in the OP were all legal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
By rule, that is a substitution in NCAA. (8.2.4.1)
Yep, sure is in the rule book that way.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
I think I may be missing something here....

The starting player in FLEX position enters the game when the lineup is accepted.

That player leaves the game when replaced on defense by the DP.

Coach wants to reinstate the FLEX postion with a player from the bench that is not the starting FLEX player.

At this point, doesn't the starting FLEX player have to re-enter the game to be substituted for? If this is correct then the starting FLEX player has used her re-entry and cannot come back into the game.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I think I may be missing something here....

The starting player in FLEX position enters the game when the lineup is accepted.

That player leaves the game when replaced on defense by the DP.

Coach wants to reinstate the FLEX postion with a player from the bench that is not the starting FLEX player.

At this point, doesn't the starting FLEX player have to re-enter the game to be substituted for? If this is correct then the starting FLEX player has used her re-entry and cannot come back into the game.
If you can find where it states that, I'll buy it. How can you substitute for a player not in the game? Am I missing somewhere that states for the team to return to 10 the player which previously occupied the slot must return to the game to get benched for the remainder of it.

This is where I don't particularly care for this rule. The original purpose for this rule was increase participation by someone short on hitting skill while not costing the team a weak spot in the batting order. And, much like the LBR, has become a strategy which has somewhat changed the character of the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 03:14pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Coach wants to reinstate the FLEX postion with a player from the bench that is not the starting FLEX player.

At this point, doesn't the starting FLEX player have to re-enter the game to be substituted for? If this is correct then the starting FLEX player has used her re-entry and cannot come back into the game.
I agree. The umpire should not have accepted the "Flex 2 for Flex 1" change since Flex 1 was not in the game. The coach should have re-entered Flex 1 into the 10-spot on the card (and revert the DP back to offense only), and THEN announce that Flex 1 was being removed for Flex 2. That would have clearly shown that Flex 1 left the game twice.

A substitute has to enter the game for someone currently in the lineup. There was nobody in the 10-spot in the lineup when the coach wanted to enter Flex 2. That sub either enters for someone in the other nine batting order spots, or she enters for Flex 1 after Flex 1 has been re-entered.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
I think I may be missing something here....

The starting player in FLEX position enters the game when the lineup is accepted.

That player leaves the game when replaced on defense by the DP.

Coach wants to reinstate the FLEX postion with a player from the bench that is not the starting FLEX player.

At this point, doesn't the starting FLEX player have to re-enter the game to be substituted for? If this is correct then the starting FLEX player has used her re-entry and cannot come back into the game.
Please note the following Approved Ruling from "Ask Dee". It actually refers to the inverse situation (FLEX playing offense for DP), but makes clear that the position remains to be filled by any eligible substitute even if the starter CANNOT re-enter. This is what most have understood from the beginning of time.

DP/Flex
A.R.8.2^1: If the starting DP gets on base and is replaced by the Flex to run the bases twice in a single game, the DP is then unable to
play for its remainder (starter who has re-entered). If that spot (the one the DP originally occupied but the Flex currently holds) in the
batting order comes up again, may the coach substitute for the DP even though there has been no one in that position for some time or
must he/she substitute for the Flex?
RULING: Once the starting lineup is created with a DP and Flex, those positions exist throughout the game even if one of them is temporarily vacant or inactive. The Flex who entered the game to run for the DP is still the Flex and retains all those rights. The DP position still exists and a substitute may be entered in that spot in the batting order. The number of available (but not necessarily in use) spots never changes…there are either nine or 10 and that cannot change throughout the course of the game. The coach may decide whether to substitute for the DP or Flex based on which player is needed in the lineup or which starter should retain her reentry rights but whatever the reason, it is imperative the coach articulates which player the substitute is for and that that decision is clearly passed along to the scorer and opposing coach.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2014, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
... Also believe they do a disservice to everyone by using the term "substitute" in the rule when the player referenced does not meet the definition of a substitute.
They call it a substitute because a player leaves the game. Admittedly, no player enters the game (so the FLEX is not substituted FOR), but calling it a nothing may be even more confusing since FLEX did leave the game and must use her 1 re-entry if she re-enters. It is a "half-substitution", but there is no defined term for that.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2014, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No, substitution rules apply to the player, not the position. There was no substitution at the beginning of the game, just the DP going on defense and the Flex simply left the game.
Does that simply leaving the game count as a "substitution" for the player as it pertains to how many more times she can "leave the game"? Of course it does. Getting hung up on the word "substitution" has nothing to do the OP.

I had this exact question brought to me in a post-season game by a coach with a WCWS Championship under her belt a few years ago. She went as far as to say she would "bring me down" if I were wrong. To her credit, she did apologize the next day.

The Flex position is always there if a team starts with it. Sometimes there's nobody in it. It can be filled by any player eligible to do so. I believe NCAA and ASA agree on this.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2014, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Does that simply leaving the game count as a "substitution" for the player as it pertains to how many more times she can "leave the game"? Of course it does. Getting hung up on the word "substitution" has nothing to do the OP.

I had this exact question brought to me in a post-season game by a coach with a WCWS Championship under her belt a few years ago. She went as far as to say she would "bring me down" if I were wrong. To her credit, she did apologize the next day.

The Flex position is always there if a team starts with it. Sometimes there's nobody in it. It can be filled by any player eligible to do so. I believe NCAA and ASA agree on this.
I hope you told her she could either protest or...not protest. But either way, she was to go sit down and not make any more threats that would guarantee her ejection.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with odd Scenario Huntin' Ref Basketball 23 Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:04am
NCAA Correctable Error Scenario amckell Basketball 21 Sun Oct 31, 2010 12:29am
How Do You Like This Scenario? Zebra06 Basketball 14 Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:32pm
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex shipwreck Softball 5 Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm
Here's a scenario Snake~eyes Lacrosse 4 Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1