![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
"A catch shall not be credited if: . . . c. The fielder uses any equipment or part of her uniform that is displaced from its proper position." There is no mention of intent in "c". So even if the ball inadvertently rolls into her removed helmet/mask, it still meets the language of "c". Now, if, for example, the ball had somehow rolled into her jersey or behind her chest protector, and she reaches in and grabs the ball before it falls to the ground, that would be a legal catch. In those cases, the equipment or uniform are not displaced from their proper position.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Why the Seeming Discrepancy? | Freddy | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 09, 2008 09:23am |
point discrepancy | Putty | Basketball | 18 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 02:32am |
ASA UNIFORMS & EQUIP. | chuck chopper | Softball | 13 | Tue Oct 18, 2005 06:35pm |
Pitch Lodged in Umpire's Equip @ HP | isneths | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:48am |
Detached Equip - Ball foul | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Feb 25, 2003 10:40am |